Summer’s End

Summer is winding down here.  Maybe it’s just in my mind, I don’t know, but the days are certainly shorter now than before, the nights are cooler and our yard is covered in walnut shells, broken and jagged, the work of squirrels.  The acorns are surely next, buckets and buckets of them.  Leaves are even scuttling across the sidewalk in the breeze, and just that simple sound reminds me that autumn is near, my favorite time of the year.   

Fall is where I have longed to be since I was a little girl.  It is settled-in.  While summer is sunshine, fireworks and s’mores, cherry-stained lips and fingers, sunscreen and freckles, fall is football games, warm blankets and hot cocoa.  It is pumpkins, cinnamon, woodsmoke and wool sweaters.  It is warmth on a chilly night.  It is family.  Fall is home.

This last few days of summer we will resume football practice and cheer practice and we will pick out first-day-of-school outfits and make sure our pencils are sharpened and all that good stuff.  And we’ll probably roast wieners over a fire and make s’mores one last time, maybe hit the pool, stay up late with a movie and popcorn, and let the kids run around outside with Poppy until the lightning bugs come out.  I will enjoy every minute of summer’s splendor.  And then I will dog-ear this page and set it aside.  Some cold winter night, when the wind whistles outside my window, maybe I’ll sit by the fire and open again to this page.  I think I will smile as I remember this summer, poison ivy, heartache and all.

Summer’s End

3 thoughts on “Summer’s End

  1. Oh yes, you are speaking from my heart too. I LOVE fall – the coziness and the everyone-back-under-one-roof feeling.

    And pumpkin spice candles 😀

  2. I’m so jealous of your fall. We may have 350 days of sunshine in Arizona, but we have no fall. The weather cools (a tiny bit), but we have no leaves or cool breezes.

    Well, until December. Then we get to see a couple of trees drop their leaves 🙂

  3. Ok, this is beyond beautiful, and you have brought me to tears again. Yes… isn’t the feel of home wonderful. Enjoy this week with your family.

Say it...

