We were together.

I honestly don’t remember a day when I wasn’t in love with you, David Paul.  Some days I wake up and think

Oh my God, he is still here 

because I can’t even imagine why you would stick around with me…and yet there you are.

And for twenty years, you have come back home to me every night. I can believe there were times that it didn’t seem like an entirely desirable option. But you came home anyway, poured yourself a bourbon and walked straight into the fire. Sometimes I think I may have even heard you whistling…

I guess this means we’re really stuck with each other. We’re actually going to make it.

I guess I always knew we would.

Happiest anniversary David.  I would marry you all over again.  Every time, without fail, I would choose you.

me-and-dj-2016-bw

 

We were together.

I forget the rest.

–Walt Whitman

We were together.

3 thoughts on “We were together.

  1. Toni :0) says:

    How wonderful!!! So happy for you both, that’s quite a milestone given so many people our age don’t last that long anymore. Hope you have a wonderful anniversary and cheers to many, many more! 👰🏼🎩🎈🎊🎂🎉💕🎈😊

    Always love seeing you post. Hope the kids are doing well!

Say it...

