Silence Like a Boom

Kate Summer 2016 kjk

It rained last night. The trees bear that in their color…the trees, the grasses and the fields full of blue Chicory flowers and Queen Anne’s Lace.

I turned off, onto the old winding road and drove slowly, trying to avoid holes and making my best attempt to find the smooth patches of dirt among the rippled gravel. She was beside me, but quiet.  The early morning sun flickered through the canopy of trees, and I could feel emotions swell within me.

We aren’t the way we used to be.

We aren’t the same.

When we got to the barn, she began to put her boots on.  I touched her hair, swept it behind her ear and said

“I miss how we used to be.”

And she said nothing.

There was silence that felt like a boom.

I remember once saying that she would outgrow me, but I would never outgrow her.

I think it is happening.

She is outgrowing me.

I didn’t know it would feel like this.

Silence Like a Boom

4 thoughts on “Silence Like a Boom

  1. Toni :0) says:

    Awww I’m sorry friend. It’s so hard seeing our kids grow up. They do change but the good news seems to be they will come back to us so praying that will be the case for you in the near future. My son got his senior portraits yesterday and to say I was an emotional wreck is an understatement. Getting older is sure rough when we weren’t warned of how hard the feelings would be. Hang in there and big hugs. 💜

  2. Mom says:

    Yes, it’s rough. Growing up is rough and growing older is rough. But we wouldn’t have it any other way. My mother would say, it’s just a phase. But it’s one that leads to another and another, and, hopefully, full circle. Love you baby.

  3. Rita Johnson says:

    Rita says: The high school years are tough on mom’s. The college years are sometimes worse. After that they realize how much they need you and how much you did for them all their lives. Just let them know you’re there for them always. You are a great mom and a loving person . I’m so grateful you are there for my son and my grandchildren. I love you!

Say it...

