June 10th

You’ve been gone longer than you were here.  That makes me awfully sad.

You were such a good thing in my life.

I knew when you pooped on the floor at Petsmart on our way home from picking you out that we had absolutely no idea what we were getting into with you.

Remember how you chewed up all my cookbooks? I still have them you know…I don’t use them much anymore but I can’t bear to part with them.

They remind me too much of you.

It’s true that we didn’t know what life would be like with a Labrador…with you… Nor did we know just how magnificent a dog you would turn out to be.

Coco Edited

My heart aches a little, sometimes a lot, every June 10.

Miss you old Pal. I always, always miss you.

Is there really a Rainbow Bridge?

June 10th

4 thoughts on “June 10th

  1. Toni :0) says:

    I like to believe there is a Rainbow Bridge. Everyone in our rescue talks about it. I don’t think you ever get over losing a pet. I still think about my first dog who was my first playmate. Makes me teary-eyed just thinking of when she passed. It was crushing and so awful. So thankful for my doggie now and how she lights up our days. I have so many photos of her. Such precious memories they give to us. Big hugs on a tough day gal! 💜

  2. Dad says:

    No you really never get over it, but you always have the good memories. I remember all of the dogs I’ve had in my life. Dickie was my first, then “IKE” (named by my grandmother after President Eisenhower), Yasha, Frisbee, a girl named “Dude”, and Spike. Spike passed on a special day, Good Friday. So I always have mixed emotions on Good Friday.

  3. Mom says:

    Dad forgot to mention Rec and Ruby. We only had Rex for Agee weeks, but it only takes one glance at a puppy to fall in love. He was previous. Ruby, on the other hand, hady heart. And I still mourn her. But I wouldn’t have my funny, sweet Marcella if I had not lost Runy. Bittersweet.

Say it...

