Like it used to be…

It’s a little after 7:00AM, and still dark out.  The clouds are heavy with a freezing rain, or sleet or whatever it is that caused them to close schools today.  I’m sitting here by the fire listening to the tapping of rain on the roof and wondering when the kids will wake up…surely not late enough.  Except for Henry.  Henry will roll out of bed around 10:00.  I always did like him best…*

I had planned on getting a lot done today…laundry and bills and putting the final bits of Christmas away.  Now I’m not so sure. I think maybe we’ll have another movie marathon and some cocoa.  As dampening as another day off school is to the normal routine, there is something so comfortable about having them all here with me.  It’s like it used to be.  Around 3:00PM today I am sure I will be well-reminded of how it used to be while I am desperately searching for something to eat that is not particularly good for me…frustrating, messy, crumby (and I mean actual food crumbs will be everywhere), loud, whiny and perfectly, beautifully heart-melting all in the same breath.  Hard to believe that is at all possible, but that’s life…the beauty is always there, you just have to choose to see it.

Is there anything beautiful about dust, though?  I fail at the moment to see any beauty.  I’m taking bets as to which child is lucky enough to give voice to their boredom first today.  I see dusting in their future.

Any guesses?

Hey Mooooooooommmm…what can I doooooooooooo?

______________________________________

*Not actually true.  Theoretically, if I did have a favorite child, it would probably be the one that dusted.  (Which none of them do.)

Like it used to be…

6 thoughts on “Like it used to be…

  1. Toni :0) says:

    Nice! Always fun to have a surprise day off from school. My kids both dust their rooms, help dust mine on occasion as well as the other levels. They don’t always do the best job but at least it’s better than not doing it at all. I really dislike cleaning my house. Always wanted a cleaning lady but not the expense! Always time or money. Sigh…enjoy the day with those kids!

  2. Hurray for snow days. We’ve had none, but the boys are ever hopeful. (Me too!) But dusting and cleaning… blah. When the house is really messy I think of a Proverb…

    Where no oxen are, the crib is clean: but much increase comes by the strength of the ox.

    Not sure the boys like being compared to oxen ;D But I’m not looking forward to the day the “oxen” have left the stable.

    Julie

Say it...

