Summer Afternoon

Often in the evenings, when supper is in the oven and the kitchen is (relatively) clean, I take a glass of wine out onto the stoop with me and I stare out at my little corner of the world.

The gardens are alive with dragon flies and bumble bees, and always I see a lot of work I must do…deadheading, dividing, trimming, weeding…

Last night I sat outside and watched as petals from the crepe myrtles drifted lazily to the ground like snowflakes.  What a pretty sight in July…they gathered on the path like clumps of fluffy snow.  We planted those crepe myrtles eight or nine years ago when they were less than two feet tall.  Now they are large and beautiful and provide us with glorious shade for our hot Virginia summers.

This morning I sit in quiet…nothing but that fridge again with it’s hum and the birds’ pretty songs to keep me company.  I picked flowers from our garden the other day and they smile at me…coneflowers and yarrow, hyssop, catmint and even some oregano for fun.  (If anyone needs fresh oregano, I have scads of the stuff.)  On my list of things to do today:

  • make peach cobbler
  • work in the garden a bit
  • make blueberry jam
  • finish the laundry

Yesterday’s run has me feeling a bit sore.  It was my longest run yet — 5 miles — and I am dealing with something like tendonitis in my right hip…I’m pretty certain I need better shoes.  Anyway, when today’s work is done, we will spend the afternoon at the pool.  Hot sun, soft pool towels in stripes and polka dots, cool water and the laughter of children.  Sounds lovely, doesn’t it?  In reality, it may quite possibly be more like this: hot sun, pool towels, luke warm water and the four loudest children in the county.  Well, such is my life, and I love it this way.  When we get home, we will make Limonada do Coco to refresh us before the pizzas go in the oven.

Sounds like the perfect way to spend a summer day…

“Summer afternoon, summer afternoon; to me those have always been the two most beautiful words in the English language.”
-Henry James

I agree, Mr. James.

Summer Afternoon

2 thoughts on “Summer Afternoon

  1. Toni :O) says:

    Sounds perfect to me…have tons of fun! I wished we lived closer…fresh oregano is one of my favorite things and would go perfectly in my homemade spaghetti sauce I’m making in a few days. Sorry to hear about your hip hurting. I just read recently on another blog that shoes are the biggest factor when running and if they aren’t the right pair, you will have pain in your feet or legs. Definitely hit up a running shoe store and see if they can help, you certainly don’t want it to get worse. Good luck and cheers to Pizza Friday, that’s on our menu tonight as well! Have a fabulous weekend friend! :O)

  2. Ahhh, so glad you’re having a good summer! We don’t have the community pools, but we made it to the lake this week, and we’ll be going again. Gunnar and I get out and walk early in the morning, before it gets hot (for us heat-wimps, y’know). And now, NOW, I need to bust out the blender!

    Julie

Say it...

