Dust

The first thing I did this morning was brew the coffee.  Poppy stared at me the entire time…she was waiting for her lettuce.  She likes a little piece of lettuce every morning to kick start her day.  So I give her one when I make the kids’ sandwiches. She takes it into the family room so she can really enjoy it.  Sometimes she rolls around on it.  I don’t know why.  Mostly she just crunches it up.

Then I made the kids’ lunches (only three today because William was buying his lunch).  Three peanut butter and banana sandwiches, three bags of something crunchy, three apple sauces and two yogurts.  Plus a little salt water taffy for fun.  Hey, if you can’t be at the beach, you can at least eat the taffy.

I showered, then I watered the plants and checked on the zucchini, kissed four beautiful faces goodbye for the day and watched as they left.

I spent the next 5 1/2 hours working.

And then I went to Dick’s, because Kate needed knee pads for volleyball.  And I like to go and look at their handguns and their ammunition and stuff.  I don’t know why.  I just like the little boxes full of cartridges.  I like how heavy they are and how the cardboard box kind of jangles when you shake it.  That’s probably weird.

When I got home, I folded the laundry, and pulled out some meat for tomorrow’s supper from the freezer.  Tomorrow, we’re having pulled pork, cole slaw and watermelon.  Tonight we had grilled cheese and tomato soup.

The kids had CCD when they got home from school…Ella was super excited but not the boys.  Kate had CCD last night, and loved her class.

After CCD, Ella had cheer practice and Kate had volleyball.  And then we had to finish up the homework that didn’t get done before all of this started, which was pretty much all of it.  I am not a fan of 8:00 homework.

That pretty much wrapped up my day…and what did I accomplish?  I went non-stop all day, and I accomplished very little it seems.  I am learning to accept that.  I am learning that I don’t even care all that much anymore because ANY human is physically incapable of accomplishing what I would like to accomplish in one 24 hour period unless they had a full staff, which I don’t.  (Okay, yes I do care.  But I can let go of it because I know I am unrealistic with my expectations.)

Last night, I walked by the dining room table which was dusted by Ella a week or two ago.  Around the outside of the table is a light ring of dust, and in the center of the table the dust is thick.  It is clear that she didn’t manage to get to the center of the table with her duster.  How precious she must have looked with her little duster, dusting that big table.  I wish I had seen her.

I do not like to dust.  I blame that on my mom because she made me dust that table with 172 giraffe figurines on it every week.  The kids did most of the dusting this summer in between episodes of sponge bob which was awesome (for me).

Sometimes, when the dusting hasn’t been done (which is actually most of the time nowadays), you can see their hand prints on that table.  Sometimes I wonder why they have to touch the table at all when they are walking by.  And sometimes I think they leave those prints behind to remind me.  So that one day, like today, when I’m alone, and the house is quiet, I will see that little hand print and I will ache to touch those little hands.

There will come a day when I will walk through this house and there will be no hand prints to dust.  No lip marks on the side light windows by the front door. No sticky lemonade drips by the refridgerator.  There will be no crumbs and no socks on the floor and no sweatshirts on the couch and no mouth guards on the counter and no muddy shoes in the garage.  And no one will be singing Jingle Bells in September, and no one will be orchestrating a plan to buy the latest version of Madden for xbox and I won’t buy cartons and cartons of snacks at Costco for school lunches anymore.  There won’t be anyone to borrow my shoes and not give them back…no one to write love notes to anymore.

They will all be gone.

And I will wish for the days when my house was dusty.

Dust

5 thoughts on “Dust

  1. Toni :0) says:

    Oh good golly, I was cracking up at this post!! Poppy-hilarious!! I need a cleaning lady/hired help too!! Oh yes indeed I do! I used to be SO on top of cleaning my house every other week, yeah that was when I worked part-time!! I always swore that if I worked full-time I’d have someone to clean my dang house. Yeah, I’ve been full-time for six years and still no cleaning crew, now I have to “hire” my kids to clean. I could totally relate perfectly to how the dusting gets done in your house as that’s my house too!! We should be neighbors so we can drink wine together and crack up over our homes and how unclean they are. LOL! I think the older I get, the less I care. But in all seriousness, you’re so right, someday I won’t have a thing to complain about as my house will be so clean and perfect. They certainly grow so fast, I need to enjoy this season more while I still have money in my pocket before college costs send me sleeping on the street and then I won’t have to worry about keeping a house clean.

  2. Oh Kristen, you describe it so well, I feel like I’m right there with you… physically and emotionally. The dust, the handprints, the drips and stickiness. Oh yes.

    We will miss these ridiculous things.

    Julie

    1. Hard to believe,isn’t it? Then again, it seems like it is approaching WAY too quickly!!!

      Hope you have a good weekend. The weather is supposed to be absolutely perfect here this weekend!

      ________________________________

  3. We really must find a way to introduce Poppy and Mei Mei. Mei, too, is a fan of lettuce. And radishes. Seriously. She pestered Cliff until he got up, followed her to the kitchen and gave her another one. I wish I was making this up.

    Now, about this dust and these sweet children you are raising. I know I’ve said it before, in fact you can probably stop reading now because I’ve said it here so often, but I love when you share of your heart and how you love your kids. Generally speaking blogs about kids barely get a glance from me these days, but yours, I look forward to, anticipate (so I’m glad there have been more of them :)). In the midst of this struggle, I wonder, is it worth it? Am I just crazy and making this pain up? Am I just a brat who isn’t getting what she wants? And then, I read things like this and I’m reminded why. In a beautiful way. So, thank-you for loving your children so fiercely and for sharing it. It reminds me that yes, this is all worth it, regardless of how it turns out.

  4. Oh stars, my friend. I’m all a mess here. This is an absolutely wonderful post. And you know what, that day when you think you’re accomplishing little? You are accomplishing so very much! You’re caring for your family in ways they don’t even know. But God sees, and He is pleased. 🙂 Love to you!

Say it...

