Enero y Ricardo

A little girl visited our house this afternoon.  The first thing she did when she walked into our house was tattle on the boys.  She didn’t say hello, or hi, or anything other than “The boys called me “r*tarded.”  

Then I got a hot flash, because I felt like I needed to take action, and I strongly dislike taking action and yelling at children that are not my own.  I really really strongly dislike it.  But then I thought, I’ll just go out there and tell them to knock it off in so many words.  Which I did.  In my crazy huge pink slippers and my knit hat and scarf that I wear to keep me warm in the house because I don’t want to turn the heat up. I walked out there in all my glory and told those boys that they were not going to be able to come over anymore if they couldn’t be nice.  They kind of stared at me like I was an idiot, and I figured it was just because I actually looked like an idiot this time what with the slippers and the woolies and all.  

Then I went back inside.  A few minutes later, William came in and I told him that I didn’t EVER want to hear him call anyone r*tarded, EVER.    

And he said “What?  I didn’t call anyone that.”

And I said  “I know it was J who said it, but I don’t ever want to hear that come out of your mouth, do you hear me mister?”

William:  What?  No!  He called her Ricardo! 

Me:  What?  Why?  That doesn’t make any sense.

William:  Oh, well, because we said “here comes Enero y Ricardo.”  

Me:  Who are Enero and Ricardo?  

William:  Oh.  No one.  It’s just funny.  

Me.  I don’t get it.  

William.  Oh.  Well, we were just having fun.

Me:  I don’t get it.  

William:  Okay, well, I’m going outside now.  

Me:  Okay, you be nice.  

William:  Okay Mom, I love you!

Then I went upstairs to tell the girl that tattled on the boys that she was wrong, and that they did not, in fact, call her any other name other than Ricardo.  Or it could have been Enero.  And she and Kate gave me the same look the boys gave me — the one where I look like an idiot — and I told them that next time I’m totally keeping out of it and they can fight their own battles.  Which they thought was very mean of me.   

Enero y Ricardo.  

I still don’t get it.  

But it makes me smile.  

Enero y Ricardo

4 thoughts on “Enero y Ricardo

  1. The boys will wonder why I’m giggling. Enero y Ricardo I think enero means January in Spanish. Maybe it was a Happy New Year thing?! But whenever I heard Ricardo I think of Fantasy Island… Boss! The plane!

    But I AM crazy…

    Julie

    1. Yes, Enero means January. I don’t understand why on earth they were calling someone January…still don’t get it. :) It’s just so innocent, I think that’s why I like it.

      ________________________________

    1. Yes Maam, I do.

      How’ve you been? You’re quiet lately. Hope everything is okay.

      I’ve not been too fantastic, but I’m trying to keep my head on straight and count my blessings. Looking forward to hearing from you friend,

      Kristen

      ________________________________

Say it...

