Running.

Kate started an after school running program.  The program ends in May with a 5k.  Kate needs a buddy runner, though.  Doesn’t it sound fun to be a buddy runner?  This is how they suck you in. 

Well, so I started running.  I haven’t run since, oh, before I was pregnant with Kate.  Back then it didn’t take long to work up to running 5 miles at a stretch relatively easily. 

That was then.

In all fairness to myself, I am old.  What was I thinking?  I think I thought maybe I’d have more energy if I started running.  I don’t think it’s working.

So anyway, the running (and I use that term lightly) led to the wondering how many calories I might be burning.  Which led to the wondering of how many calories I am consuming.  Which led to the counting of calories (I am on a “program”).  Which led to the buying of the scale and the near constant hunger and the daydreams of chocolate eggs and cookies.  Sometimes I just take the bag of chocolate eggs out of it’s hiding place and smell it.  Then I cry a little and put it back. 

The running also led to the discovery that The Man burns WAY more calories by exercise than I do.  I find this to be very infuriating.  He sat there sucking down a beer yesterday right next to me.  The nerve of him.  I made a face at him when he wasn’t looking. 

Also, I realize that I am pretty close to my goal weight, but I am not looking ANYTHING like I did before the children starting coming out of me.  I am completely unrecognizable.   

Back to the running.  The first run was unpleasant.

The second run was more unpleasant.

I skipped the third scheduled run because it was chilly and rainy and that seemed like a good excuse.

Pretty much the same thing happened the second week, and then I began to try to figure out how I could get out of this 5k thing.  And then I felt guilty.  

The third week I realized that every single route in this neighborhood is uphill and the wind, no matter where I go, is a headwind which makes me feel like I am going to die.

The fourth week has been better.  I can tell.  I actually ran a little extra just for kicks. 

So to recap:

run

misery

run some more

feel like I may die

starving

grumpy

run

feel better.

You should try it.  Misery loves company.

About kristenkj

Laundry is my nemesis. And also dust.

3 responses to “Running.

  1. veronica kosinski

    No thanks. I’m going with portion control.

  2. Misery loves company… ain’t that the truth ;D

    Julie

  3. Oh my stars.. Ash’s school is having a 5K, too, and we’re hoping to train together. I’m just not sure my Lupus joints can handle the running. Good for you… keep up the good work! :)

Say it...

Want to contact me?

Copyright

Copyright 2008-2014 Kristen Johnson

Subscribe–you know you want to…

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 313 other followers

