How we found out Poppy eats stuff.

So it was Christmas Eve morning.  Poppy woke up, stood up and barfed.  And there were all sorts of unmentionables in that there barf.  So I figured she would be feeling much better after that barf.  It’s hard to digest trash, after all. 

After some time and some negotiation, she ate her breakfast.

Then I took her for a nice long walk, and when she did her business, I noticed that there were all sorts of things in her doody.  I could specifically make out at least three small legos.  I briefly considered recovering the legos because honestly, I can’t stand the thought of having an incomplete set, but I decided that was just plain gross. 

Then Poppy barfed up all her breakfast.  And she did not look good, at all.

Do you know what you have to do when your dog is very sick on Christmas Eve?  That’s right.  You have to go to the Emergency Vet place (the super-fancy-all-sorts-of technology vet place that is really, really expensive, but really your only choice).  I have been there only once, with my old buddy Coco.  He never came home.

They ran tests with their fancy stuff.  

She was not in good shape was the diagnosis. 

I told them all of the stuff that had come out of either end of her.  It was kind of funny going down the list, but not really, I guess. 

I went home, and waited for them to call me with some news.

As it turns out, she had a severe infection.  She was a very sick little dog.  She suffers from “dietary indiscretion.”  (As do I, only I limit my indiscretions to the edible types).

She came home late on Christmas night.  And she seemed just like her old self.  She unfortunately learned absolutely nothing from the event.  Today I found her with a dime-sized plastic googly eye, and a small clam shell, the size of a quarter. 

Right now, she’s sitting over there, on the back of the couch like a cat, staring out the window at the falling snow.  She looks for squirrels, and deer, and any kids that could be running around our back yard.  And if she finds any she barks like crazy.

It’s hard to imagine this house without her now.

About kristenkj

Laundry is my nemesis. And also dust.

6 responses to “How we found out Poppy eats stuff.

  1. jen

    So glad Poppy is ok. That was a rough time…

  2. I’m so glad she’s okay, and here’s hoping she’ll use more discretion in the future… and that you don’t have to face a house without Poppy anytime soon.

  3. So glad she is OK! Mei Mei eats things too. Gross things. We have no children, yet there are baby gates all over the place. Oh the things we do for our fur-babies.

  4. Toni :0)

    Ahhh so I see you have discovered the fun side of pet ownership! Hah! We’re fortunate Jewel hasn’t eaten anything she shouldn’t but we, like you, have found out how expensive those fancy smancy vets are-ugh! Good times indeed! :0)

  5. Taryn

    I had my fun with our dog Dexter last Tues after he decided a pack of cigarettes was an appropriate snack. We have owned him for a year and he has never so much as looked at a pack of smokes before. $490 later and our dog was good as new, we’re broke but the dog is fine. He too likes to eat things that are not edible, but up until Tues he managed to not eat anything toxic and it always came out one end or the other and he was fine.

  6. Amy

    I’m hoping for a photo in the posts I need to catch up on :) Can’t wait to meet Poppy

Say it...

Want to contact me?

Copyright

Copyright 2008-2014 Kristen Johnson

Subscribe–you know you want to…

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 310 other followers

