All of This

We had agreed a while back that we would not buy gifts this anniversary.  It just seemed like something we didn’t need.  That after fifteen years, a gift is less important than just being together. 

Then, we were standing in the kitchen, cleaning up the dishes, and I asked him if we were still on the same page with that decision.  And he looked at me like he might not be quite in agreement 100% anymore.  He thinks we might need something to remember the last 15 years by. 

I looked up at the kids, all flopped lazily in the family room watching Zeke and Luther (by the way, what the heck is a bus-waxer?), unfolded laundry piled in the chair, dishes in the sink and stacks of drawings and scissors and glue and paper all over the kitchen.  And my refridgerator…I swore my refridgerator would not be cluttered up.  And there it is, nestled into the wall, covered with artwork, crayon drawings, and photos from the last 15 years.  And Poppy (for once, she was chewing on something she’s actually allowed to chew on), boy do we love Poppy.  

“But we have all of this…” I said to him with a sarcastic wave of my arm.     

And then I smiled because it was true.  We have all of this to show.   

Yes, David, yes. 

I would do it all over again. 

I love you.  Happy Anniversary, Baby.

All of This

6 thoughts on “All of This

  1. Gifts or not, you deserve a celebration! 😀

    Actually, I give you this :

    THANK YOU.

    I believe we should encourage, thank, and honor couples who love each other, who keep their vows – through thick and thin, who hold their families closely, and thereby hold our communities together. Thank you for acting like “love” is a verb and not just a romantic feeling (though that’s nice too!). Thank you for living out love and faithfulness and patience and respect in front of your children.

    Happy Anniversary!

    Julie

  2. Toni :0) says:

    Awwwwww, by far one of my favorite posts you’ve done!!! Happy Anniversary to you both and um can we have a Poppy fix soon??? :0)

Say it...

