Just a Drop

What we are doing is just a drop in the ocean. But if that drop was not in the ocean, I think the ocean would be less because of that missing drop. — Mother Theresa

This is our drop in the ocean:

This little mason jar.  (Technically it’s a Kerr jar I guess, but who says “Kerr jar?”  I guess maybe the Kerr people do.  Anyway…) This jar sits on our counter in the kitchen.  Each day we add to the jar as much or as little as we want.  At the end of the year, we will donate what we have collected to a group that rescues, rehabilitates and finds homes for lost dogs.      

But Mother Theresa also said this…

Let us not be satisfied with just giving money. Money is not enough, money can be got, but they need your hearts to love them.

So there is one more thing we would like to think about doing (I think)…

We want to think about adopting a lost dog, sometime, perhaps, in the next year.  I think.  Perhaps.  (And yes, I know Mother Theresa was talking about people, not dogs, in that quote up there, but whatever, it still applies).  

We are pretty excited.  I think.  Well most of us, anyway.  The Man has expressed a slight concern about his duties.  He asked me to formulate a plan, and then he would consider thinking about it. 

I told him that his duties would include the vacuuming of the hair, the poopoo pickup, the barf cleanup and the walking in the late night and early morning time slots, as well as anything else that I find to be taxing or unpleasant in nature.  I was only kidding, though.  I have to be prepared to take on the bulk of the unpleasantries that will arise.  That is, in itself, an unpleasant thought. 

But at the end of the day, when I imagine that little warm body laying his head in my lap, tail wagging and looking up at me with those brown, thankful eyes, I think I could handle it.  And we will know that we have done something good. 

Even if it is only a drop in the ocean.

Just a Drop

9 thoughts on “Just a Drop

  1. Our dog, Jack, was “rescued”. Big Daddy and I had been discussing getting a dog when my Uncle found Jack sleeping on his picnic at his hunting camp in Northern Michigan in December. My Dad proclaimed him a “good” dog and we drove a 12 hour round trip to bring Jack home. I have not regretted it. He’s been a loyal and patient friend and he tries to be a watch dog (meaning he barks inappropriately at children and stray cats). He’s getting old now (10!), but he’s every bit as patient with the children. My baby sits on his “lap”. My big cat grooms him.

    I have two problems with having a dog (Big Daddy is in poop and feeding detail. We take turns walking. I vacuum everything. I don’t clean up puke!) 1) I have little kids and a dog is basically a little kid. If you’re not longing for a little thing to take care of, you might not want a dog. Seriously. They’re toddlers. 2) We like to travel and it can be expensive to board/kennel him depending on how long we’re gone.

    This is the longest comment ever! 😉 Good luck! 🙂

  2. LOVE this! Makes me think about the Proverb that talks about the righteous man taking care of the needs of his animal. Your drop is important… people or animals! 🙂 Keep us posted.

  3. My pal Coleen jokingly said once that if she ever joined the Catholic Church, her patron or confirmation saint would have to be the patron saint of laundresses, because that’s all she ever seemed to be doing. Well, of course, God loves a dare, so two years later she indeed joined the Catholic Church, and her patron name is “Hunna” — who is the patron saint of laundresses and washer women.

    So she and I started collecting the “St. Hunna Fund” — it’s the money (change and bills) we find in pockets and rattling around the washer and dryer as we do the never-ending laundry. Every so often we pool our funds and buy laundry supplies which we take to the “Turning Points” house here in Prince William County — a safe house for battered women and their kids.

    It feels pretty good. Love me some Mother Theresa.

    This is a great post!

  4. We’re having doggie thoughts in this household, too. Maybe a rescued lab or similar type dog. My husband wants a puppy, but I want something closer to house-trained! We’ll see what happens in the spring-both boys want a dog in the worst way!

  5. Toni :O) says:

    Hey girl! We rescued a two-year old mini-schnauzer last April and I truly think it was one of the best days of our lives as a family of four! Jewel has brought SO much joy to our house. She gets SO excited whenever you come into the door. She’s a great snuggler and napper and any toys coming her way, she will play with you. I grew up with a dog, my husband did not so this was all new for him as well as the kids…best.decision.EVA! I was just telling my son the other day that I don’t even mind getting up at 5:15 in the morning to exercise only to have to delay it by 10 minutes or so in order to feed her and then she looks at me with her big brown eyes because she realizes she needs to be let out. I change out of my tennis shoes to get my boots on and haul my coat out of the closet. Get her outside and she poops and there I am with my poopy bag in hand, wearing my heavy coat cause it’s snowing and I’m in shorts at 5:30 a.m. taking care of her business…bottom line, worth.every.minute! Do your research, have fun, realize that rescued or adopted dogs may need some extra TLC to adjust in the beginning (fortunately, ours worked out perfectly) and many, including ours, come already trained/housebroken and they don’t chew everything up in sight so there was SO much less work involved rather than a puppy…genius! In the end, it’s unspeakable joy and each day one of us always says, “I love you Jewel, someone should rescue you, oh, that’s right…we already did!” I will never live my life without a mini-schnauzer in my home from now on. Hope you add a new four-legged member soon and he/she brings as much joy to your home as ours does.

    By the way, Ella shoveling snow at you was hilarious! She looks SO grown up…sheesh…it’s been a while since I’ve checked in (stupid crazy job that I’m now searching elsewhere for a new one where I don’t have a neurotic boss!) but when I do stop by..I know I can count on smiling!

    Take care sweet bloggy friend! :O)

Say it...

