A Decade

I have started to write this over and over again, trying to put a decade of thoughts and wishes and memories into a small piece of writing.  I don’t know how to do that.  I don’t know how to even begin to express how I feel about you. 

My Kate.

Do you know what I love about you right now? 

I love that you can easily spend two hours doing just your spelling homework, because you put so much effort into it.  I love that you are so creative, and that you never choose the easiest route.  I love that you read for hours every day.  I love that your chin has just the slightest little dimple.  I love the color of your hair and the freckles across your cheeks.  I love that you want to spend time with me.  I love how you say “Mom” when I say something you think is ridiculous.  I love your little fingernails, with their pearly pink chipped nail polish.  I love your innocence.  I love that every single day, you tuck your giraffe into bed before you leave for school.  I love all of those little love notes you leave around the den. 

There is so much more than that, Kate.  

I sometimes feel that my life began with you. 

You are the first best thing I ever did.

I am more proud of you than I could have thought possible. 

I love you beyond words, little girl.   

Happy birthday.

A Decade

9 thoughts on “A Decade

  1. Happy Happy 10th Birthday Kate!!! She is such a sweet girl and growing up to be such a wonderful person. We’re glad to know her. I love how she and MG play so well together even with the age difference.

  2. I love the phrase “You are the first best thing I did” That’s so true about kids.

    Happy Birthday Beautiful Kate.

    BTW K, your kids are so stinkin’ cute. 🙂

  3. Toni :O) says:

    Sorry I’m late to the party…hardly ever have time for blogs anymore since I’m working so much. Happy Birthday to your beauty of a daughter…great picture and loved your post.

    Bummer about you all being sick…cracked up about not looking or feeling thinner after being sick…that’s SO me it’s ridiculous! However, since I take Vita Cold so much…rarely get sick because I don’t have any sick days to take…gotta stay well…guess I’ll never feel or look thin. LOL!

    Hope you’re finally caught up on laundry and your math calculation is spot on as I figured it out not so long ago myself that it takes that long!

    Hope you have a blessed and fun weekend! :O)

Say it...

