The Old Man

Today is The Man’s birthday.

The Man is o.l.d.

Mr. The Man…happy birthday!

I’m sorry you have to leave this house at 6:45am for a “very important meeting” and there will be no birthday breakfast.

I’m sorry there will probably be football practice this evening and there will be no birthday dinner. I promise tomorrow’s dinner will be delightful! 

When you get home tonight, I will have beer available for your consumption.  And it will be the good kind, too, not the embarassing kind that I get when I feel like I’ve been spending too much money on stuff like candles and wreaths and such.

And I will smile when the thundering herd runs through my kitchen screaming Daddy’s Home!.  It’s one of the best parts of the day.  They love you so very much.   

And I love you so very much, too.  I really, really do.   

P.S. Does it feel different now, being so old?

The Old Man

4 thoughts on “The Old Man

  1. I loved the Daddy’s Home stampede too. Now my husband works at home, so we don’t get to do that anymore. I think I miss it.

    Happy Birthday to your hubby!

    How old IS he? I am just trying to figure out if *I* am therefore old or still a young whipper snapper.

  2. Happy belated to The Man.

    I love the sound of the Daddys Home squeal. It means I get a kiss, a break and an adult conversation for the rest of my day.

Say it...

