Little Bill

I never realized how you would thrill me. 

How watching you run would captivate me. 

How the sight of you drinking from a hose could make my knees weak with happiness.

I never knew that sweat could smell so incredibly sweet. 

That “dirty” could be so absolutely lovely.

Your tanned back is turned to the sun, and I can trace with my eyes the swirl of sunbleached hair right in the middle of your back.  And I am amazed at such a creature.

I never knew how magical little boys were.

And then you came along, Little Bill. 

I love you.

(P.S.  I promise to stop calling you Little Bill sometime soon.  Except I’ll probably still call you that when you are sleeping.  Because you will never know.)

Little Bill

4 thoughts on “Little Bill

  1. You have such a way with words. It is pretty coincidental we both had son posts but you know, great minds 😉 I love that you captured him with his most favorite sport. That is such a big part of him these days and will be for years.

  2. “…because you will never know…” I love that.

    And I feel the exact same way about my little man (who we called baby Jayce for the longest time, but not nearly as long as you’ve gotten away with little Bill).

Say it...

