Counting Diamonds

Have I ever mentioned that Henry likes to kid around a little?  Have I ever mentioned that he always has a smile on his face, or laughter in his belly? 

I have visions of him in the future, this boy of mine.  He is a tall, shirtless young man, standing on a table with a lampshade on his head (and probably a beer in his hand), belting out something ridiculous and then laughing hysterically at himself.  And then the room will erupt in laughter, too.  Because he is a clown if I’ve ever seen one.  He is the life of the party.  And he craves the attention. 

Which is why, I must assume, he chose to pretend he didn’t know the names of the coins at school.  I must assume this is why he called the dime a diamond.  (Honestly, when his teacher told me that one I had to hold in the laughter because I knew he was messing with her).  I suggested to the teacher that it is possible that he might be teasing, just a teensy.  She concurred.

Seriously, the boy knows his coins. 

But, there he sat with a figurative lampshade on his head, counting out pennies and nickels and diamonds. 

And you know, I can’t do anything about it.  I don’t even think I want  to do anything about it.  It kind of makes me happy. 

All I can think of is Henry, clucking his tongue, winking at me and pointing his finger the way he does. 

And I laugh.

Is that so wrong?

Counting Diamonds

12 thoughts on “Counting Diamonds

  1. Oh that’s hilarious!

    And the PICTURE! I can now imagine him as a middle-aged man… not that he looks like one, just something abotu the expression on his face. He’ll be the uncle that teases all the nieces and nephews.

    Love it!

    Julie

  2. Mom says:

    He’s a special boy. He may spend his whole like making people happy. What a treasure. And that smile–it’s totally contageous.

  3. nicole says:

    Love this picture of Henry! He could be running for president with that wink and smile!
    We have the “diamond room” aka dining room. The name has stuck even all these years later that the kids can pronounce it correctly. I love things like that!
    And our little firefly babies are having a birthday coming up! sniff sniff!
    I would love to get them together for a little birthday playdate! Dinosaur park one morning??

Say it...

