What I do when I mess up.

So I spent the entire morning in the kitchen yesterday. 

It was a cold, rainy day, and I decided to make spaghetti and meatballs for my lovies.  They love their Gramp’s special recipe.  It takes me about 5 hours to finish the entire thing if I do the meatballs.  And I have found that the meatballs are a must.  So a day like yesterday was perfect for staying in and cooking.

I feel like a better mother when I make meatballs and spaghetti sauce.

(Hey Mom, you know what else they really really love?  That Iowa Pork Chop Casserole.  I’m not kidding.  They l.o.v.e it.  Except for maybe Ella.  But she doesn’t eat anything.)

And then, I decided we needed cookies.  Peanut butter cookies.  So Henry, Ella and I made a batch of peanut butter chocolate chip cookies.  Big ones.  With extra love inside.  And then we ate some. 

I feel like a better mother when I make cookies, also.

Now, unfortunately, The Man has been trying to rid the house of sweets.  I think I said something about how the kids eat too many sweets and so he declared that there would be no more fun around here. 

I’m kidding. 

But he was  annoyed when I bought swiss cake rolls for William’s field trip lunch.

On a side note, my mom always packed us special lunches when we went on field trips.  We always had a brown paper bag, and inside there was a soda (grape nehi!) wrapped in newspaper.  And we got something sweet to eat, or chips or something.  The lunch treats were rare.  We were a no-frills-lunches kind of family.  Anyway, The Man cannot stop me from carrying on the legacy of field trip lunches.

Anyway, so we’ve identified the fact that The Man has a problem with fun.  I mean sweets.  (Except of course, he didn’t have a problem horking down a huge bowl of ice cream the other night after the kids went to bed.  I’m just sayin…)

So to you, Mr. The Man, I just want to say that you cannot deprive me of my motherly responsibility and joy of baking.  Especially cookies.  It is how I show my love.  However, I understand your concerns.  And just so that you can sleep easy at night, I will have hidden the cookies in a safe place.  This way, you will not have to worry about anyone coming across them accidentally and eating some.

See Honeybabe?  I always have your feelings in mind.

What I do when I mess up.

7 thoughts on “What I do when I mess up.

  1. You are an awesome wife. I am getting ready to make some cookies, and I think I might do the same thing for my husband. I’ll hide them. And I’ll try to eat the cookies really quick, so that he’s not even tempted.

    I aspire to be as great as you.

  2. Jo@mylestones says:

    Now you’ve gone and made me hungry. Specifically for peanut butter chocolate chip cookies!
    I also toss in my support for the field trip lunch legacy. Carry it on!

  3. That spaghetti sounds awesome! And the special field trip lunches? That’s how I grew up, and tonight I wondered what I’d put in Asher’s special field trip lunch tomorrow, because my cupboards are bare. I feel so bad not giving him a treat. *sigh* Perhaps tomorrow I will have to cook all day so I feel better. 🙂

  4. In Food Rules by Michael Pollan (which I have never read by the way, just heard about) he says that it is OK to eat whatever you want as long as you make it yourself. So bake all the cookies you want, my darling. Michael Pollan says so. 😉

    I feel the same way about cooking/baking. When I have a full dinner and/or baked goods to offer at the end of the day I feel like I’ve fullfilled my role as a SAHM. Because there’s something to show for it, right? Nobody notices if I dust the mantle or not.

Say it...

