Fierce

William, come over here so I can take your picture.

Okay Mom.  Do you want me to look fierce?

Yes.  Look fierce.

I had to put my camera down to look at this little boy, just eight years old, trying to look fierce.  And I smiled.

William looking fierce-2

 

He looks so little.

Fuzzy hair glowing in the sun.

Freckles dancing across his face.

Little belly still sticking out farther than his chest.

Often now, I see unmistakable signs that he is growing up.  Soon he will be a young man, and not my little boy.

But the little boy is still here.  If only for a short time, he is still here.

Fierce

9 thoughts on “Fierce

  1. kelly says:

    Oh my gosh… I think it is hilarious that he asked if you wanted him to look fierce. It totally made me chuckle! He’s so cute.

  2. I can’t tell you how many times I think the same thing about my son, also named William. There are so many times he frustrates me. Then we go outside and he runs and jumps and climbs. I see him next to other boys. Older boys. And I want to cry. He’s still so little.

    Great post! Great blog…it’s my first time stopping by. 🙂

  3. marcy says:

    Love the fierce. You are so wise to enjoy the little boy he still is. You should see Josh these days; it goes by way to fast.

Say it...

