Since I’m on a roll here with all the luck…

I’m certain I’ve mentioned that Tuesday is my day of fun. 

My gardening day.

Well yesterday, the sun came out and warmed the earth and the spring beauties began popping through the soil and the bluebirds perched in their tree outside my window.  There is a lot to do outside now…even the dandelions have forced their ugly little tentacles up into the sunshine and need to be dealt with.

I got my clippers and decided I would concentrate this afternoon on the deck plants…dumping the annuals (which lasted well into winter this year until, of course, the blizzards came) and the rosemary that didn’t make it through and trimming back the oregano and the thyme and mint. 

I hobbled down the steps and out into the yard with my dried out rosemary, seriously full of a little bit of bliss. 

Until I stepped a little bit onto a snake. 

Yeah.

That’ll kind of kill your enthusiasm for the great outdoors if you’re me.

Not to be deterred, however, I dumped out my pot and figured I’d be extra careful and look for the little creep so I wouldn’t make the same mistake again.

Oh, I was looking.

But I’m not kidding when I say that camouflage really works.  I didn’t see that thing again until I was a foot from it. 

It looked at me. 

I may have screamed a little bit.

And then I hurried back up to the deck.

I tried to find the snake when I got to the top of the deck, so that I could totally and completely avoid it on my next trip down.

I could not find it.  This troubled me slightly.  I hoped it had just slithered off.  And tried to tell myself that it was probably more scared of me than I was of it.  (Except, I highly doubted that).

This time, I managed to make it.

Until I got to the edge of the tree line in the yard.  Here I found a nice little snake coiled up in a pile.  Don’t you just love it when you stumble upon a snake pile?  And yes, I am certain it was a different snake.  It was a different color.  And it was less friendly looking, in my opinion.  It didn’t have any fun yellow stripes or anything like that.  It was all brown and grumpy looking.

And that, my friends, is when I decided to pack it in and forget the gardening. 

So much for fun days.

Since I’m on a roll here with all the luck…

5 thoughts on “Since I’m on a roll here with all the luck…

  1. And I thought you were going to tell me you’d fixed your dryer!

    EEEEK! 9-1-1 would probably be on the way, at that point, because the neighbors would’ve heard me screaming.

    Are they poisonous where you are? Do your kids try to catch them and keep them in aquariums?

    My mother gave up completely on gardening after an incident with a garter snake, a broken hoe, 52 scattered pieces of the garter snake, and a visiting missionary.

  2. Yikes!

    Well, the good news is that your four year old child didn’t come up to you with an entire nest of baby snakes and say, “look, Mommy, WORMS!”

    *still shuddering*

  3. Toni :O) says:

    OMG…I HATE snakes…once ran over one with a riding lawnmower as a kid….didn’t cry but I still screamed! Yeah, I’m with you, I’d find something else to do INSIDE and then I’d call creepy snake patrol to get rid of them. Blech!

Say it...

