Boring things.

Ten (somewhat boring) things I did today, in no particular order:

1.  Fixed the garage door.  Sounds way more difficult than it was.

2.  Created a fixed assets schedule and a depreciation rollforward…FUN!

3.  Changed diapers.

4.  Ate some samoas. 

5.  Ate some Dots.

6.  Ate some celery to make it all better.

7.  Told Ella the three little pigs story, where she interrupted me every 10 seconds with “by and by, came a wolf!”   

8.  Read to Ella.  She purposely chooses the stories I do not want to read.  I do not kid.  It’s part of her charm. 

9.  Watched UP with Ella.  Mostly, I watched Ella, watching UP.  Watched her facial expressions change with the story.  Watched her toes wiggle.  Watched her still chubby fingers pick up jellycat, look him in the face and tell him she loves him. 

10.  Thanked God that I still have these simple, boring moments.  And prayed that I never fail to notice them.

“It might sound boring, but I think the boring stuff is the stuff I remember the most.”

–From the movie UP.

Boring things.

11 thoughts on “Boring things.

  1. I agree, it’s not always the big, important memories. After all, rocking babies and kissing their sweet heads is a common everyday occurrence, but it holds a dear treasured place in my museum of recollection.

  2. Yes, celery definitely counteracts the cookies. Great minds think alike – we both are on the same page about every day moments 🙂 PS: Although hearing Ice Ice Baby on my answering machine is not boring and definitely memorable.

  3. Toni :O) says:

    We LOVE the move UP…one of the best stories of all time I do believe. Looking so forward to Toy Story 3D…Pixar is absolutely the best at storytelling I think. It’s truly the little boring things in life that make it sweet. Have a great boring day with a few tax spreadsheets thrown in..hah…

  4. Up is a great movie. I cherish our “boring” moments- the quiet, calm moments in the day where we rejoice in the routine!

    Celery has a negative calorie count, so eat all the samoas you want!

  5. “Normal day, let me be aware of the treasure you are. Let me learn from you, love you, bless you before you depart. Let me not pass you by in quest of some rare and perfect tomorrow. Let me hold you while I may, for it may not always be so. One day, I shall dig my nails into the earth, or bury my face in the pillow, or stretch myself taut, or raise my hands to the sky and want, more than all the world, your return.”
    Mary Jean Iron

    I love Up!

Say it...

