Why Mom? Why, indeed, Ella.

This is a recap of my morning, retold to you for your amusement.  I wish I were kidding.  Or exaggerating.  Even just a smidge.

Ella:  I write thank you note, Mom?

Me:  Okay, let me wipe off the island first.

Ella:  Why Mom?

Me:  Because it’s still dirty from lunch.

Ella:  Why Mom?

Me:  Because I haven’t cleaned it yet.

Ella:  Why Mom?

Me:  I don’t know, Ella.

Ella:  Why Mom?

Me:  Don’t ask me why anymore, Ella.

Ella:  Okay.  (…pause…)  Why Mom?

Then came the sound of me, not talking anymore.

Then me again…Ella, come sit now.

Ella:  Why Mom?

Me:  Do you want to write a thank you note?

Ella:  Okay Mom.

Me:  Ella, don’t write on the island.

Ella:  Why Mom?

Me:  Because that’s not allowed.

Ella:  Why Mom?

Me:  Because you write on paper.  You don’t write on the island.

Ella:  Why Mom?

Me:  I don’t know, Ella.  I give up.

Ella:  Why Mom, why?

Me:  Because you little people are slowly driving me to insanity.

Ella:  Oh.  Why Mom?

*****

She.

Is.

Relentless.

All day long this goes on.  All the livelong day. 

Why Mom? Why, indeed, Ella.

11 thoughts on “Why Mom? Why, indeed, Ella.

  1. I’m smiling b/c I’ve been there and I remember. I know it is trying but soon you’ll wonder where did these days go. I’d much rather have the why mom’s than the sassy back talk I’ve been getting lately.

  2. Oh, the dreaded “why” phase. I heard a “why?” from Nolan the other day, and a shudder went through me. We just finished this phase with Matthew, and now we are starting again!

  3. Makes me:

    1. Glad my kids are older.

    2. A little sad my kids are older.

    3. A little reluctant to go back to the beginning with #3.

    4. A little excited to go back to the beginning with #3.

  4. Amara never was into the “why’s”

    It was more “Mom! Mom! Mom! Mom! Mom!” I seriously wanted to change my name.

    But I can picture Ella, looking up to you innocently, asking her why’s and I am pretty sure, insanity or not, it still melts your heart….after you’ve had a glass of wine!

  5. Miles overdid the WHY thing, too? I do really think some kids do it more than others. Asher hardly ever asks why…it’s like he’s just cool with WHATEVER. Miles? Never cool with just WHATEVER.

    crazy-making.

Say it...

