A Recipe

The other day, starving while grocery shopping (yes I know it’s not prudent to go grocery shopping while hungry), I found butternut squash ravioli in the fresh pasta section of the local supertarget.  Skeptical, yes I was.  However, like I said, I was starving.  So I bought some.  I figured I could eat it for lunch one day instead of tootsie rolls or leftover candy canes. 

I once had a pumpkin ravioli dish at a fabulous local restaurant, and I had that in mind when I bought the ravioli.  I figured that I could just whip up a recipe, because I am so talented in that way.  Friends, seriously, it. was. good.

And so, because I am all about being generous, here it is, in all it’s glory…

KJ’s Butternut Squash Ravioli in Cream Sauce with Cranberries and Toasted Walnuts

1 TBSP Butter

2 cloves garlic, crushed

approximately 1/2 cup half and half

pinch cayenne

pinch nutmeg

walnuts, toasted, to taste

dried cranberries, to taste

Butternut squash, about two servings worth

Okay, I know the measurements are approximate, and everything is “to taste” and all that, but I’m not all that good with following recipes.  There are very few recipes that I follow exactly.  I like things the way I like them, and that is that.  So anywho…

Put a pot of water on to boil for your ravioli, and cook according to directions.

You absolutely must toast the walnuts.  Frankly, if you are not going to toast them, you may as well not waste your money on them, imho.  So there you go.  Toast them up.

Meanwhile, melt the butter in a small saucepan, and let it get a little browned.  It will be nice and nutty.  Y.U.M.  Then add your crushed garlic.  (Please, do not buy the jars of minced garlic.  Puh-lease.)  Okay, so there is rarely an occasion that I actually mince garlic, anyway.  I almost always just crush it.  It releases the flavor, it is beautiful, and my kids fight over the large chunks of garlic they find in our suppers.  It reminds me of my family when I was growing up.  Good times, yes they were. 

 –hey mom, remember how EVERY.SINGLE.MEAL someone spilled their milk?!–yes, good times indeed.–

So anyway, crush up your garlic, add it to the melted butter, and then sautee it for a bit…not too long, like 30 seconds or so, because if you brown the garlic, it will turn bitter.

Then, add the cream, or half and half, or whatever.  Go with what y’all like.  Add a pinch of cayenne, to give it a smidge of zip, and the nutmeg, because, I’m just not even sure why.  I like the name nutmeg.  I like the taste of nutmeg.  I like the smell of nutmeg.  I just like it.  It gives it a little something. 

Let your sauce reduce a little.  Please do not let it boil.  Just let it simmer a bit. 

Okeedokee.  So then, once your ravioli are done, plate them, then pour the sauce over, and sprinkle on the toasted walnuts and the dried cranberries.  However many you like. 

Eat.

Seriously people, this was good.  I could have eaten the entire thing, but I exercised self control.  (I always got an “outstanding” mark for “exercises self control” in elementary school.  Seems to be a problem for me now).  

If I was the PW, I would have had pictures for every stage of this here dish.  However, I am not the PW.  I am more like “KJ, Woman of Suburbia” or “KJ, Need a Mini-van Now” or “KJ, Slurping Life and Wine.”  Anyway, there are no pictures. 

 But, you’re welcome for the recipe.

A Recipe

10 thoughts on “A Recipe

  1. Mom says:

    Your dad bought pumpkin fetuccini once and I loved it. I’ll bet it has a similar flavor, but even tastier with all the seasonings you’ve added.

    And yes, I do remember the spilled milk every night and how we expected it, and how it was a good meal when it didn’t happen. Ah the memories…

  2. Toni :O) says:

    Sounds yummy but the part about you eating a real lunch instead of tootsie rolls or leftover candy canes had me LMAO! Thanks for always giving me a chuckle! :O)

  3. I understand the crushed garlic thing. Don’t cut it, don’t do the jar thing … what’s wrong with people? Crush. It. Then you can chop chop a bit – perfect-o. You should put this on Tasty Kitchen, PW’s recipe website.

    I’m going to try this!

Say it...

