Naptime.

“Night-night Ella.”

“Green.”

“Here’s your green blanket.  Time to sleep.”

“White.”

“Here’s the white blanket.  Stay in bed now, Ella.”

“Big.”

“Here’s the big blanket.  Night night.”

She rolls over, nose to nose with jellycat.  I steal one last little glimpse of her and I close the door.

And then, mere seconds after I leave her room, door closed, shutters closed, fan humming a soft, soothing hum meant to lull two year olds to sleep, I hear her on the floor.  She thumps around, playfully kicks the door and the wall in her little melodic way.  And then she drops off to sleep.  On the floor.  She sleeps on the floor, people.  Every nap.  Every night.

I don’t know.  Please enlighten me as to the why.

I used to think it was kind of sad and pathetic.  I imagined her lying there next to the door, staring out underneath the crack, just hoping for a glimpse of the parents she adores, the same ones that have caged her in her room for the night or the nap.  The Man thinks I am nuts for torturing myself that way.  Probably so. 

Every.single.night I go in there to check on her and there she is, sound asleep and curled up with jellycat, on the floor, behind the door.  I tuck her back in bed.  Under her white blanket.  And her green blanket.  And her big blanket. And then every morning she wakes up with a cheek full of carpet marks. 

It is amusing.  And cute, and quirky.  (And possibly slightly sad.)

However.

Every now and then, just for fun, she gets under the bed. 

You must tell me how to get her to stop getting under the bed. 

Because seriously, there is like 6 inches of clearance under there.  And she drags her lamb and her jellycat and her white bear under there with her.  And then she falls asleep.  Under there.  And then she wakes up.  Under there.  And then she screams.  And tries to army crawl outta there.  And her shirt gets stuck on a spring.  And that spring tears a big fat hole in her shirt.  Oh, and did I mention it is a new shirt?  Because of course it would be a new shirt.  Yeah. 

And also, the naps don’t last very long when they’re under the bed, as opposed to actually being in it.

And that, my friends, is a problem.

Naptime.

10 thoughts on “Naptime.

  1. you could tell her there are monsters under the bed waiting to eat her unless she stays in the bed

    or maybe not?

    that’s all I’ve got for ya (and just maybe part of why I have a dog who happily sleeps in her kennel instead of a child)

  2. Soliloquy says:

    I have the perfect solution! Take naps WITH her!

    No? Tell her there’s a loose spider on the floor… Wouldn’t want to cozy up to him, would she??

    Not helpful?

    You’re screwed then. Have a glass of wine and stop stressing about it.

    You are welcome!!

  3. I don’t really have a solution to offer. But I gotta tell you that I got a good laugh out of your problem. Is that mean of me? It’s just that my kids are such freaky little beings and, well, um no offense, but it’s good to hear that they aren’t the only ones.

  4. That Ella. Will do things. Her way! I have no idea, really. For kicks, I googled “why do toddlers sleep on floor” and it seems it’s fairly common. Some responses say there’s no harm – let ’em do it.

    My theory. Re: the door thing and under the bed. Maybe it’s not so much that she wants to be on the floor, but rather trying to replace that cozy surrounding of the sides of her crib. Peeking under the door would be similar to sleeping up next to side of crib, light through slats. Under the bed – again, that sort of enclosed snuggy of her crib. Duh, I dunno.

    Whatever it is, she sure is precious.

  5. what beautiful children and what a sweet quirky thing! you will love telling her stories of this at the dinner table and you will delight as her face lights up because this made her special. and you remembered it. even if it’s a little hard now. promise. 🙂

Say it...

