An Update on Misery

After that God-sighting, things began to look up.  Actually, there were several more mis-haps, none of which bothered me in the least.  Which is wierd.   

Case in point:  I broke the dryer.  Broke it.  You know the little doohicky that clicks when you close the door so that the dryer will turn on?  You know that little thing?  Well, when I was pulling some sheets out of the dryer, they snagged on it and bent it up.  So I thought “I’ll just bend it back down.”  So I did.  Yep, I bent it down and it snapped right off.  “Uh-huh” I said to myself.  So I just figured I’d take some tape and tape it back on there.  And what do you know but it worked.  And also, Dad, I did not use duct tape.  I have not sunk (sank?  sunken?) to that level.  Although I’ve come close a few times.  Anyway, the tape is only a temporary solution, but whatever.

Then I began to try restoring all the files I lost on my old computer.  It took me about three hours but I was finally able to re-download my accounting program free of charge.  Then I began restoring the data files…that only took about 4 hours to complete.  But you know what?  They are all there.  And you know what else?  So is that folder full of pictures that I couldn’t find last night.  Carbonite, I think I may love you…

So in the midst of all this computery stuff, my friend Jenny brought me some Nutella to indulge in.  Isn’t that nice?  Only I can.not.get.the.top.off.  I’ll have to have The Man loosen it in the morning or I’m going to go insane with the drooling. 

I threw together a really nice roast chicken with herbs and artichokes, asparagus, kalamata olives, tomatoes, garlic, onions and white wine.  Then we headed out the door to t-ball.  We were in such a rush to leave, and Henry still did not have his cleats on (even though I’d told him to get ready like a million times) so I told him to just grab them and I’d help him tie them when we got to the field. 

So we get to the field, and he hands me the shoes.  Well what do you know but he didn’t get a matching pair.  Not only that, but he managed to get two left shoes.  One was his left shoe from last year which is too small now, and one was William’s left shoe.  So on his left foot I put the too-small left shoe, and on his right foot I put the too-big left shoe.  And I said how does that feel?   And he said fine, I can wiggle my toes and everything.  And I said then get on out there and play ball.  No one will notice (that your mother is a moron).  And I just laughed.  Kate and William looked at me like I was losing my mind. 

I remember this one family that used to go to church and the kids were always a mess…bedhead, and socks that didn’t match, and shoes untied…you know the ones I’m talking about.  I remember thinking that I would never be like that mother.  Nope.  Not me.  I would have it together. 

I just sent my child out onto the field to play ball with two left shoes on, neither of which actually fits.  And I did it knowingly.  And I laughed.  Now, I am that mother.  

Closing the book on this day…

PS…don’t forget to enter my giveaway!

An Update on Misery

7 thoughts on “An Update on Misery

  1. Mom says:

    The main requirement to staying sane when you’re a mom is a sense of humor. Otherwise, you’ll go crazy….

    Hope you’re feeling better.

    Mom

  2. Seems like our houses are having their 7 year itch early. All our commodes are having issues (they still flush, thank you very much, but the water just runs and runs).

    I hope that jar of nutella is open – I haven’t been able to stay away from it. So good!

  3. Toni :O) says:

    Oh my GOSH…I just cracked up SO loud reading this….wholly crap was that ever funny about those cleats! You are Super Woman I swear and I think it’s great you can chuckle about it…you so have to, otherwise, you’d be eating Nutella day in and day out…hour after hour! Hah! Hope each day gets better OR maybe this is telling you that you and The Man need some time away with NO kids! Hang in there!

  4. If you only knew that to those of us who are childless – you do look like you have it all together, and I have to say, you more than look like it – I’ve seen your life in action, and you aren’t giving yourself enough credit!

    That said, I am enjoying the thought of Henry in 2 left-cleats that don’t fit, poor kiddo!

  5. You make me laugh. Picturing your Henry with two left feet… priceless. So glad you could find the humor in it all. That’s what keeps us crazy moms sane isn’t it?

Say it...

