For Your Reading Pleasure

1.  Last week,  I found shoes under my pillow.  If you’ll remember, The Man and I have a little game going on.  I did not find the shoes to be hilarious.  It’s way funnier when I do it. 

 

2.  I must preface #2 by asking you to recall William’s rules.  Pay particularly close attention to rule #1.  The one that says “Don’t look at me when I’m getting dressed.”  Right.  So yesterday I got a note from The Man while I was out which stated the following: 

No more Wii for William today.  When I sent the boys upstairs to change, William did a naked dance in front of Henry.

Which totally made me laugh.  I know, I shouldn’t laugh.  Anyway, just to clarify the rules, you are not allowed to look at William while he gets dressed.  Even if he does a naked dance.  

 

3.  I got this super nice award from Daniele at Life As A Mom…thank you Daniele!  The award states:  This award is bestowed on blogs that are exceedingly charming. These kind bloggers aim to find and be friends. They are not interested in self-aggrandizement. Our hope is that when the ribbons of these prizes are cut, even more friendships are propagated. Please give more attention to these writers. Deliver this award to how ever many bloggers you choose and include this cleverly-written text into the body of their award.

Love Ya Award 

I actually had to look up “self-aggrandizement” to make sure I knew what it meant.  I had a vague sense.  I also had a vague sense of how exceedingly charming I am.  🙂  Anyway, what a nice award to receive.   

 

4.  Yesterday the kids found this…

 

 

IMG_1371_edited

And The Man wanted to keep it.  I don’t know why.  Because he’s a man I guess.  It’s dead.  It’s in a baggie.  In my house.      

So I took a picture of it.  Because that’s what I do.  Anyway, look how it is preserved for all eternity…in striking position.  You can even see it’s creepy little viper tongue.  In case you were wondering, it is a milk snake (which is not a viper.  But “viper tongue” sounds very snakey).  It’s harmless.  Still gross.  And the deadness doesn’t do anything to lessen the “gross.”  I’m going to put it in Mr. Pink’s mailbox.  Just for fun. 

 

5.  Speaking of whom, Mr. Pink made a nasty comment about my daffodils looking unkempt.  So I spent several hours the other day tying them up into nice neat little bundles.  Now they look very kempt.  You would not believe how long that takes, really.  And I only did about half of them.  When Mr. Pink saw my handi-work, he said it was definitely a pink job.  Mm-hm.  That topic shall never die. 

 

6.  Superfudge.  Remember that book…Judy Blume?  Mm-hmm.  I bought it for Kate.  I was so impressed with myself for choosing this book for Kate, which she devoured in about 2 days.  And then I read this passage:

When I got home that afternoon, I cornered my mother.  “I don’t think it’s a good idea for you to let him go on believing in Santa.” 

bla bla bla…

“I do agree that sooner or later he’ll have to learn that Santa is just an idea.”  She sighed.  “But for now, he’s so enthusiastic and the idea of Santa is so lovely that Daddy and I have decided it can’t possibly hurt.  So please go along with us for a while Peter.”

bla bla bla…

“Well I think it’s a mistake!”  I said.  I turned and walked away.  I couldn’t remember ever having believed in Santa.  When I was three I caught my parents stacking presents under the tree.  And by the time I was five, I knew exactly where to look for the presents my parents thought they had carefully hidden from me.”

 

Well if that isn’t just fantastic.  Now Christmas — nay, her entire childhood — is ruined.  The magic is all over.  I know — it was only a matter of time — I know.  Actually, this was probably a pretty easy way to “find out.”  Unless she actually already knew.  Which is certainly possible.  But still.  Crap. 

The problem with finding books for Kate is that she needs something  a little advanced…like for a 11-12 year old level reader.  But she is only 8.  So I need books that are appropriate topic and material for an eight year old.  Any suggestions?  I tried The Tale of Despereaux by Kate DiCamillo, and pre-read that to make sure it was appropriate.  I found the selling of a little girl by her father (who never looked back, not even once) to a man that clouts her on the ear so much that her ears begin to look like cauliflower, and the mouse blood and bones and smell of death to be a little much thankyouverymuch.  So she’ll be waiting a little while to read that one.  Sheesh.  So please, your suggestions are very, very welcome.

And that’s pretty much it for this house for this week.  Night-night! 

For Your Reading Pleasure

11 thoughts on “For Your Reading Pleasure

  1. Wow a lot happened between the pool and the evening! Totally picturing the naked dance and giggling. Those happen here too even though they all scream when someone even looks at them while getting into their pjs. My kids would love to see the snake – how cool but creepy. Beverly Cleary – have you tried her books for Kate? Ramona…Ralph the mouse. You’ll have to let me know how the Santa thing works out.

  2. I’m lazy and plant my daffodils under my daylilies. That way you can’t see the yellowing daffodil foliage.

    Ahh… books! Glad for the heads-up on Superfudge. I didn’t remember that portion of the book! I don’t think Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing has anything bad, but it’s been a while. Then there are the Chronicles of Narnia, the Beverly Cleary series (Ramona Forever and Socks was some of my favorites), the Little House on the Prairie books, Sideways Stories from Wayside School (funny), Charlotte’s Web, A Wrinkle in Time, Island of the Blue Dolphins, Sign of the Beaver, James and the Giant Peach, The Indian in the Cupboard… I could go on forever. Really, I could! Pre-read ’em first, though- it’s been a while and there might be things I’ve forgotten about in those books!

  3. I thought that snake was a rattle snake…shows what I know. Scary. And I’m wondering…did it die in that striking position or did you find it that way?

    A couple of books my daughter has enjoyed: Dolphin Song, Emmy and the Incredible Shrinking Rat, and Bud, Not Buddy.

    Have a great day!

  4. Shoes = not funny, I agree, much funnier when we do it.

    Naked dance = funny, hehehe

    Snake = NOT funny, really, this post shoulda had a warning…

  5. Naked dance happens here quite often, by the little boys of course!
    Books: I agree with Leah and would add The American Girl books. I also have hard time with finding books. My girls read way above their age. It becomes even harder when they are older. My 13 year old is so hard to find books for. She reads super fast and devours everything I bring home from the library. I can’t keep up and have trusted the librarian a few times I shouldn’t have. Trusting God will protect their eyes when I can’t.
    A teacher friend has a blog that he posted a list of books on:
    Steve Gall iblogdoyou.com

  6. Double crap on that Santa thing.

    The snake thing totally grosses me out too. I think Mr. Pink’s mailbox is a perfect spot for it though! 😉

  7. Oooh! Books! I also have precocious readers at my house. Even trickier, the 17 year-old reads something that is totally appropriate for his age (and his soul) and then leaves it out and the 12 year-old girl picks it up.

    Are you a pro-Harry Potter family? Some people’s religious point of view leads them away from these, but I love them (and they may be an over-obvious recommendation . . . ). My kids also loved the whole “A Wrinkle in Time” Quartet, the “Inkheart” books and the “Eragon” series.

    I took to getting out-of-print books from my own tween years (I could tell you my old faves, but you probably have your own). They are inexpensive from online sources.

    I could do this for a really long time — sorry to monopolize your comments!

  8. Oh no! Superfudge spoiled her Christmas illusions. That is the worst. Check out your library. Is Judy Moody too young for her? Kaish loves Judy Moody. How about some old books like the Bobsy twins or Nancy Drew? Did you read those books?

  9. The naked dance cracked me up:)
    But the snake….ewwwww…I don’t do snakes.Great post and thanks for sharing!!! I enjoyed all the pictures!

Say it...

