TWO

Ella in Doorway B&W

So today you’re two. 

When I look at you, I can hardly believe you are mine. 

I am a tiny little bit uptight.  I could be called a control freak in some circles.  I am a “place for everything and everything in it’s place” kindof girl.  The kind of girl that tries to match her stamps to her envelope color.  And her days of the week underwear to the actual day of the week.  My spices are shelved in alphabetical order.  

I’m the girl that always went unnoticed.  The one whose name no one could remember.   

And then there is you.  You, little two year old, with your copper curls.  You, with your chubby feet, and dimpled hands.  You, with your beautiful blue eyes.  A little girl who often dons nothing more than a diaper and streaks of dirt.  A little girl with a shrieking scream…one that can reach pitches that are not typically accessed by the human ear.  You. 

No one will ever overlook you, baby girl.

Last night I watched you sleep.  I watched the slow rising and falling of your belly.  I watched as you curled your chubby little arm around Jelly cat.  I watched those little feet, your toes ever-so-slightly curling as you ran tippy-toed through your dreams.  And even in your sleep, you pushed those wild, red tendrils from your eyes. 

I thought about what lies ahead for you…you, who are only two.   All of the dreams and wishes and desires of a lifetime are at your feet.  In these quiet moments with you, I am breathless.  

I am overcome.    

Two is incredibly beautiful on you. 

Ella Gazing Upward B&W

Happy birthday baby Ella.

TWO

13 thoughts on “TWO

  1. Toni :O) says:

    Wow….I love that STUNNING last photo of your sweet birthday girl. Two is such a fun age and I hope she dances through it dirty and cute all at the same time. Hope you ALL have a wonderful day and a joyous year with that precious youngest babe that is such a blessing.!

  2. Happy Birthday Ella~ Hope it was a wonderful day for you too Kristen, I only had a couple minor breakdowns over the course of the day when Claire left her babyhood behind… although she will always be MY baby!

  3. Yes, two is incredibly beautiful on her, but that two is incredibly beautiful on you, too. 🙂

    LOVE this post. Happy birthday to your dear one.

Say it...

