What I Learned This Week

Strep throat can cause nausea and vomiting. 

The mere mention, the mere possibility that one of my children is going to vomit throws the others into a complete panic.  Seriously, it’s as though the house were on fire.  We’re going to have to start calling it omitvay, or arfbay so they don’t know what we’re talking about.  We’re that clever. 

There is a reason I don’t clean the floors very often.  (Okay, there is probably more than one reason.  The main one being that I am not really a big fan of cleaning the floors.  But let’s just focus on the one that makes me look less lazy.)  The reason I don’t do the cleaning is that immediately following every.single.cleaning, is a very large spill of something.  Something sticky.  Or omitvay.  Which send ME into a complete panic. 

I am unable to control myself at the greenhouse.  Un.able.  I went there with the intention of buying a few herbs yesterday, and came home with a whole lotta flowers.  The only reason I stopped when I did was because the cart was full.  I’m going back today.  I.Can’t.Help.Myself. 

I heart petunias.  I even heart the word petuniasI’m a freak, I know.

The kids will eat anything you want them to if you pack it in a bag and tell them we’re going on an adventure and we get to eat dinner in the car. 

There is absolutely nothing for an almost-two-year-old to do at a baseball field.  Except play in the dirt.  And try to jump off the bleachers.   

There is absolutely nothing for an eight year old girl to do at a baseball field, either. 

Or a five year old boy for that matter. 

Baseball dirt (that red silty dirt) is irrisistable to children.  As are rocks.

Ella looks really, really cute with messy hair and dirt all over her face.  

The word “bath” sends Ella flying up the stairs faster than I’ve ever seen her move.  (Except when she hears the freezer open.  You know, corn is a big thing with her.) 

William has a great arm.  He can really throw the ball.  I never tire of watching that boy.  He amazes me.

And there you have it.  My week in review–vomit, petunias and baseball.  Check out more “what I learned this week” at Musings of a Housewife.

What I Learned This Week

19 thoughts on “What I Learned This Week

    1. It is a very very lucky thing for me that I have Ella. Because I really have to get in and out with her…she doesn’t last long. I could seriously spend HOURS looking and then buying. Dangerous.

  1. I’m also not a fan of cleaning the floors. It’s one of a mom’s most futile chores, in my opinion. However, I am incredibly thankful for the 2 little reasons my floors will never be prestine. Have a great day!

  2. I was just telling my husband the very same thing about the floor. The minute I mop something dreadful spills. Last week it was spaghetti. This morning it was pancake syrup. I must quit mopping!

  3. I love it! Can I use the excuse of not cleaning the floors often because one of the kids spilling something? Or have you had that copy written? LOL.Was that even proper English? Copywritten? LOL.
    Loved you list of things you learned today.
    Blessings,
    Kim

  4. I hate cleaning floors for many reasons myself, being lazy couldn’t be one of them, but the fact that something is ALWAYS spilled the second they are dry and you let the kids loose in that room:)

  5. I am a clean floor nut. But I am ok with ppl who don’t. We never get sore throats with strep around here tummy aches and fevers, throat swabs and positive for strep in minutes!

  6. This week I watched my own almost-2-year-old get the swiffer out of the closet and “mop” the floor with it. This is proof that the man has been mopping, because she certainly didn’t learn it from me!

  7. The kid vomit sending the other kids into a panic cracks me up. You *do* know why that is don’t you? The others don’t want to end up with any of it on them.

Say it...

