On Being a Responsible Parent, Which Clearly, I Am Not.

One would think that having been a mother of a hard of hearing child for nearly 3 1/2 years, that I would be more, shall we say, responsible where the hearing aids are concerned.  Especially when the hearing aids belong to a five year old boy.

Yes.  One would think.

One would think that when I am frustrated with the repeating and repeating and repeating of questions, answers and statements all weekend long, that I would think to listen to the hearing aids that my 5 year old little boy wears.

One would think.

One would think that rather than be frustrated with my five year old little boy (who doesn’t seem to be hearing me correctly) that I would investigate the reason, rather than become frustrated with a little boy.  Who can’t hear me. 

One would think.

But not me.

For I am rare.

I became frustrated.  

And told him all weekend, “you need to listen better, Henry.”

To be fair, I did check the batteries. 

And I even cleaned out his ears really well.  They were pretty clean to begin with.  (Just thought I’d throw that in there.) 

Sooo.  On to the troubleshooting section of the hearing aid brochure.  (I love the troubleshooting section of things.)

Apparently the “wind and weather” protectors on hearing aids are not to be ingnored.   

The wind and weather protectors on Henry’s hearing aids had become so clogged that very little sound was getting through to the microphone.  

Oh, and by reading the brochure, I found that they should be changed every few months.  Alrighty then. 

It has been two years.  Mm-hm.

Nice.  Very nicely done, Mom.

A responsible parent listens to the hearing aids daily to make sure there isn’t a problem. 

You know, like a reduction in clarity.  Or decreased output.  Or whistling.

Maybe I should try that.

On Being a Responsible Parent, Which Clearly, I Am Not.

13 thoughts on “On Being a Responsible Parent, Which Clearly, I Am Not.

  1. Oh my, I don’t think I even knew that the wind and weather protectors existed or needed cleaning…don’t beat yourself up too bad over that one.

    I am kinda surprised Henry didn’t say that he was havin’ trouble hearing…although I’m guessing it was a gradual build up, so he might not have noticed immediately…but I am still kinda surprised (but not shocked if this makes sense).

    Have a good one.

  2. Whoops. We’ve all been there, though. Overlooking something that’s been frustrating us and then having a “doH!” moment when you figure it out.

  3. Don’t worry about it, all of us moms have those moments. I am surprised he didn’t say he couldn’t hear your very well. But Eli didn’t say anything either, but now he tells me he can hear good since he got tubes in his ears.

    Have a good day1

  4. Hi Kristen,

    I’ve been wearing hearing aids for twenty seven years now and I do a host of things ‘the wrong way’.

    Like I never clean them, change batteries only when they run out, throw them across the room into the corner. Get them wet in the rain then dry them on the radiator..!

    You might feel guilty right now, but if your son grows up to be anything like me, he’ll be doing all these things for himself before long!

    I don’t know how deaf your son is but I thought you might enjoy some of my articles about my own hearing loss, published on the BBC’s disability website Ouch, in the UK. my latest article’s about saying things right..!

    You can find my writing here:
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/ouch/writers/charlieswinbourne.shtml

    Cheers and best wishes for the future –

    Charlie

  5. You are clearly a mom who tries her best, there are always going to be times we miss something and caught up in the daily routine of things so that we don’t think of looking at the directions!!

    I am glad you figured it out and now you know!!

    I am here from the 31dbbb challenge!! Glad I stopped by!!

  6. We had the same thing happen. Except it was playdough clogging the microphone protectors. Blue playdough. And I didn’t notice it at all! Yep, check the “bad mom” box on that one.

    Thanks for the reminder- I need to go replace a couple of microphone protectors!

  7. I just got hearing aids two weeks ago, after going 20 years with out them. I had them when I was younger and I would bury them in the sand at school, hide them in the crack of the seat in the car, and anywhere else I could think of.

    I have decided to give them another shot. I will have to see if they have weather protectors, I have no idea!

  8. anonymous says:

    Heh, I’ve had mine for… going on 4 years, and no one’s ever mentioned changing those things. Although I did read something about changing them… Lol. My audiologist would pass out if she knew how my hearing aids are abused. I’ve cleaned the earmold/ear tube out with a tooth pic/q-tip, they live in my pocket when i need to take them out, they’ve been tucked in corners, left ON top of backpacks, forgotten altogether, left in the car, etc. Hearing aids survive. And if it makes any difference, often kids (and adults!) can’t tell when their hearing aids aren’t working or their ear’s are working less. It’s very difficult to tell when somethings changed. I had an audiology teacher that had me come in once a week and give me a “Go stand and face the wall away from me and repeat what I say” test in the morning. Then she’d check the FM and whatnot. But really, it’s great when you realize that your kid’s not hearing as well, my parents never really say anything, except when i complain or quip that I can’t understand anything!!

Say it...

