Today

Today, March 10…

Outside my window…The tips of our redbud.  We bought it in memory of our Coco when he passed away almost four years ago.  The kids call it (and every other redbud they see) “the Coco tree.”  It has finally reached a height that I can see it outside our kitchen window when I’m seated at the island.  The branches are fat with buds.  It’s going to be beautiful this year.  Coco would have loved sleeping in it’s shade.  

I am thinking…oh, lots of random thoughts…I noticed how much I like the sound of the washer and dryer and the dishwasher running…it sounds like home, it sounds comfortable and productive and clean.  I am thinking about what we’re going to do with our tax refund.  We’re being practical this year.  Which is not fun, but I think it’s the smart thing to do right now.  

I am thankful that…I am able to work from home.  And that The Man’s job affords him the flexibility to stay home with the kiddos while I get some work done.    

From the kitchen…Sheesh, I haven’t even thought about it yet.  Better get on that, I guess.  I think maybe some soup and bread for suppy-sups.     

I am wearing…Jeans and a black izod polo over a white long sleeve t.

I am creating…working on some ideas for a book.  Yes, I am, Rebecca

I am going…Nowhere today.  Ella is still sick.  She’s not really a shopper when she’s well, let alone when she’s sick, so I’m not even going to try.  Besides, Tuesday is my stay-at-home-and-be-productive day. 

I am reading…Nothing.  I finished the Virginia Tech book.  I have to say that it brought back really good memories.  The end of the book was great…it talked about that incredible undefeated season.  Well, undefeated until we lost in the National Championship.  The Man and I went to all those home games that year and to the National Championship…we tailgated all day long with my parents.  Good times.  Really.    

I am hoping…that Ella feels better when she wakes up. 

I am hearing…The dryer, and the hum of the humidifier in Ella’s room on the monitor.  And above all that, I can even hear the birds sing now and then. 

Around the house...The daffodils are popping up.  Remember them?  Now comes the payoff.  We need to order mulch.  Pronto.  (What the heck does pronto really mean anyway?)  And I’ll be doing some dusting upstairs and vacuuming and all that good stuff.  And some ironing.  Must iron the napkins and placemats.  I mean really, who wants to wipe their mouth with a wrinkley napkin?  Yes, I know it’s a sickness. 

One of my favorite things…MY NEW CAMERA!  The Man bought me a new one for my birthday!  YAY!  Now, if I can just figure out how to use it…

A few plans for the rest of the week:  Meeting with Henry’s teacher to go over testing results–she said he did really well.  And that same little fella has a checkup this week.  He’ll need that for kindergarten–I can’t believe he’s going to kindergarten in 6 months…

Here is picture thought I am sharing

wedding-dance-with-dad-bw1Edited this photo for my Daddy for his birthday a couple weeks ago.  I always really liked this picture of us.

Today

7 thoughts on “Today

  1. Love the picture! If you’re onto the book, then I best get going on ready the Henry posts :)….do you want my question posted right after each post or all together in one email?

    Hope Ella feels better! And I’m sure Henry did fantastic on his testing!!!!

  2. Aw…I just love that photo of you and your dad. I love the way he’s looking at you. Makes me wish my dad and I were close. At all.

    Happy belated birthday btw. 🙂

  3. Beautiful picture.

    And I am envious your flowers are starting to bloom. My tulips were starting to sprout up, then we had bad frost again. I’m hoping they’ll survive!

Say it...

