My Life in Dribbles

Because I don’t have a lot going on besides dribbles.  First, here are a couple gems from Kate:

-when I told her to try not to get ketchup (catsup?-which is correct???  whatever…) on her clothes, because that just makes more work for me, she said, and I quote, “at least they invented washing machines.”  Mm-hm.  And I can’t wait to teach her how to use it.

-I didn’t hear the entire conversation, just this little zinger at the end:  “Yeah, ’cause Mommy is WAY smarter than Daddy.”  Finally someone around here gets it.

***

Fat Tuesday is tomorrow.  Which means Lent begins Wednesday.  Which means I need to make my annual attempt at denying myself some little pleasure.  A couple months ago, I figured I’d give up the wine.  And now, I’m thinking there is a snowballs chance in you-know-where that I’m going to be giving up the wine.  The flesh is weak.  Very, very weak.

***

Cherry twizzlers taste like cough medicine.  I bought some the other day so we could eat them during our family movie night.  And I decided later in the day that I needed one.  So I tore open the package, and took a bite and seriously, it felt like I was chewing on congealed robitussin.  Disappointing.  Very.Disappointing.

***

Ella ate 1/3 can of beets the other day.  I ate the other 2/3.  Because they.are.so.good.  

*** 

Why do I spend so much time thinking and talking about food?

***

I watched this movie on Lifetime last night.  Stephanie Daley it was called.  I don’t know if I have ever seen a more disturbing movie on television.  It was just bizarre on a whole lotta levels.  Not a good movie to entertain yourself with right before beddybye. 

***

Finally, here is my entry for the B&W I heart faces contest this week…

bw-ella-one-year   

iheartfaces

Go to I heart faces to see more entries.

My Life in Dribbles

16 thoughts on “My Life in Dribbles

  1. I was going to tell you to submit a picture – you have so many great b/w shots of the kids. She is totally the gerber baby!

    Kate’s response sounds just like something I’d get from her classmate. What is it with sass and 2nd graders?

    Beets??? For real??? I think giving up beets would be #1 on my list 🙂

  2. Ha ha… I can’t wait to start the laundry training either. 🙂 This was such a fun post. I love the randomness.

    I was just talking about Lent with a friend the other day as she’s trying to figure out how to honor it, what to give up. “I want to FEEL it” she said. “But I don’t want to feel it too much… like giving up coffee or something.” 🙂 I imagine that’s your wine sentiment. 😉

    And that picture? LOVE it. You are such a good photographer.

  3. Who knew about the beets? Really? I had no idea. I kept thinking I would think of something good to give up for lent and now it is here and I have no idea. NONE.
    LOVE the picture of Ella. Perfect as can be.
    PS Of course you are WAY smarter than Daddy. Gotta love that!

  4. Now that is an ADORABLE picture!

    I told my kids that I don’t eat beets because they give you a hairy bum. They were horrified to see my Grandmother eating them once at The Old Country Buffet!!

  5. Toni :O) says:

    OMG….I thought it was ONLY ME in regards to frickin Ketchup! I HATE scrubbing clothes…complete waste of my time so I SO get it! Us Mommy’s have to be smarter than Daddy’s…otherwise NOTHING would ever get done! Love that photo of Ella. I’m not sure I’ve ever seen one YET of her that I don’t love. She’s just a beautiful little angel…such blessings you have! Have a great day! :O)

  6. The picture is adorable!!!

    And I myself have been trying to figure out why all I can talk/think/dream about is food…I’m pretty sure that explains the 30 pounds I haven’t been able to get rid of yet LOL

Say it...

