Blank

There is just nothing left in my head after three days heavy on accounting.  I don’t know how people do this for a living.  I really don’t.  My mind is numb after a couple hours.  Let me tell you a fun little story. Imagine me, waking up this morning all happy and fresh and ready to go, grabbing my coffee, and hopping onto my computer.  And trying to open the document I worked on for hours the previous day, and I can’t find it.  Because apparently I didn’t save it.  Or I saved it in some wierd file that I cannot find.  And it is the absolute worst part of the accounting process…the internal controls part.  In a word…sucky.  And I had to do it over.  All over people.    Four more hours of documenting our internal controls. 

***

This weekend was so beautiful I actually contemplated the idea of running.  I mean like for exercise.  

Me:  Kate, I think I might start running.

Kate:  YOU?

Me:  Yeah, me, why not? 

Kate:  Well, um, it just doesn’t really seem like you.

Yeah, she’s right.  I’m just going to go back to cookies.  They’re more like me.

***

Later in the day, Kate and I had a conversation about the temperature, and how men always seem to be warmer than women.  I asked her why she thought that was, and she said maybe because men are more active.  “You know, Daddy is always outside and doing stuff, and you are always inside.”  Mm-hm.

“And what do you think I do in there all day?” 

“You know, you’re just kind of still, and doing work on your computer.”  Mm-hm.

And the laundry just magically does itself, the supper is prepared by the phantom chef, the groceries are purchased with my personal assistant and the nanny chases Ella all day long.  Among all the other stuff I don’t do.  Because I need to be still. 

***

Having dreams about blog friends.  Nothing wierd.  Just normal.  Like we’re having coffee or something.  Or squeezing key limes.  Darcie, I had a dream that I bought a bag of those key limes, and you wouldn’t believe the amount of juice that came out of one of those teeny tiny little limes.  And I actually thought, in my dream, “I’m going to have to tell Darcie about this.”   

I wonder why people buy those key limes…are they better?  I mean, because they are SMALL.  And I’m just thinking it would take a lot of them make any measurable amount of liquid.

***

Henry has learned how to skip.  He is the first one of the kids to learn how to skip before kindergarten.  A little triumph for him.  The children are always assessed for skipping in kindergarten.  Apparently there is some correlation between the ability to skip and the ability to read.  Or something.  I don’t know.  Anyway, there has been no correlation so far in my home with skipping and reading.  Both Kate and William learned to read WELL before learning to skip.  In fact, I don’t even know if William can skip yet.  I haven’t checked his skipping skills lately.  And Henry can skip, but not read.  So there you have it.  The theory of skip-readability has been disproven.   You’re welcome.

***

Want to know what song I’m singin’ in my little head today?  Crunchy, Munchy Honey Cakes.  You’re welcome.  There has been a steady stream of Wiggles tunes penetrating the solitude around here since The Man is home all week on his funlough.  Who really says muslix flakes anyway?  Is there such a think as muslix flakes?  I mean other than the cereal?  Can you just go and buy muslix flakes to use in your cooking?

Alrighty.  TTFN.  Crunchy munchy honey cakes…crunchy munchy honey cakes…crunchy munchy honey cakes…crunchy munchy honey cakes… 

Blank

11 thoughts on “Blank

  1. Oh, you make me laugh! I went from a groaning and “Bless your heart” to laughing out loud to my laptop in 2 minutes. 🙂 Hope you have an easy-accounting, muchly appreciated (yes, I know muchly isn’t a word, I just like it), skip-a-dee-doo-dah, Wiggles-less day.

  2. I love how kids perceive us by action or lack of. My kids always say I’m on the computer but forget the other stuff like you said. Can’t say I know that song but have fun singing away and good luck with the #s.

  3. Has Kate been talking to my husband? He has been known to make the same comment about being still when I say I’m cold. Funny, the dog doesn’t stink anymore and the bathroom is clean :).
    Hope you have a numbers free day – or at least some wine waiting at the end of it!

  4. This is an intervention. Step away from the accounting. Clearly, you need a break.

    I missed you actually so you need to get back to the blogging.

    And I’m beside myself with the affirmation that I’m not the only freak who dreams about my blog friends. Thank you.

    Oh, and would you send your phantom chef my way? I’m thinking he could probably whip up some mad Valentines desserts.

  5. I have had “The Sharing Song” by Raffi floating around in my head ALL week.”…its mine, but you can have some, with you I’d like to share it, cause if I share it with you, you’ll have some too”

    How DO you stay so “still”? LOL!

  6. “The theory of skip-readability has been disproven. You’re welcome.” You CRACK me up! Hee hee! Picking myself up off of the floor where I was laughing. And back to Google reader I go.

  7. This was great! Thanks for starting my weekend off on a giggle. Gotta love those annoying honey cakes! And just this week Ryan received an “Inconsistently Demonstrates” on his skipping skills! I’m so glad to know that he’s not retarded 🙂 Thank you so much! Enjoy your weekend… Happy Valentine’s Day!!

  8. Ha – I’m an accountant, and I still get tired of accounting after a long week. And don’t get me started on auditors…such fun! And the cookies comment made me laugh – I’m much more like cookies than running, too!

Say it...

