A Window Into His Soul

One of William’s first assignments in school this year, 2009, was to write a list of his resolutions.  It’s like a window into his soul…all the things that make life worthwhile to a little boy.   

img_5397_edited

I want to play more basketball.

Every day I want to run in my basement.

This year I want to shoot more baskets.

This year I want to eat more vegetables. 

I want to go outside more.

This year I want to go to the zoo.

(on the back side) I want to go on more vacations.  (Me too, buddy.)

His list reminds me that what makes him happy is not acquiring “things.”  It is the time he spends.  Playing, running, shooting baskets.  Going to the zoo, the beach and the cabin.  

It is being.  Being a little boy. 

“Between the innocence of babyhood and the dignity of manhood,
We find a delightful creature called a boy.
Boys come in assorted sizes, weights, and colors,
but all boys have the same cravings–
To enjoy every second of every minute of every hour of every day.”

–Alan Beck

 

A Window Into His Soul

11 thoughts on “A Window Into His Soul

  1. The innocence of children is so refreshing! And it reminds all of us what truly matters to our kids – time together and fun filled activities with family and friends!

Say it...

