For Today

Got this idea from Julie at Herding Grasshoppers.  A glimpse into my day, just an ordinary day…

FOR TODAY January 14…

Outside my window…COLD.  And GRAY.  And COLD.  I can see the steam from our dryer vent rising past the window.

I am thinking…that I need to get off the computer and do something productive.

I am thankful for…the fact that I don’t have to go anywhere today. 

From the kitchen…chicken enchiladas tonight.  Everyone loved them the first time we had them.  This time, everyone will probably hate them.  You just never know ’round here. 

I am wearing…a hideously ugly orange fleece pullover.  Hideous.  But warm.

I am creating…a post for William’s birthday.

I am going…NOWHERE!

I am reading…Helen Over The Wall.  My grandmother gave it to me when I was a girl…never read it.  It was hers as a child.  It is a first edition, 97 years old, and falling apart.  How I wish I had read it 30 years ago…I didn’t appreciate it then.

I am hoping…Ella takes a long nap.

I am hearing…Ella, falling asleep on the baby monitor.  SO precious.  She is talking to Jellycat.

Around the house…The heat kicks on.  There are toys on the family room floor, laundry to fold in the chair.  Clean dishes that need to be put away. 

One of my favorite things…My photo wall–straight ahead.  I could stare at the pictures all.day.long.

A few plans for the rest of the week:  try to keep up.  Coffee with my friend–can’t wait.

Here is picture thought I am sharing

henry-first-snow-2007

Sure do wish it would snow…

For Today

7 thoughts on “For Today

  1. your mom says:

    It’s funny you’re hoping for snow. The only thing I can think of is SPRING! Can’t wait for the daffodils to pop through with the first warming of weather. It takes me back to the days when you kids were all still asleep and I’d walk around the whole yard looking for those signs, and letting the laundry go, the dishes go, the dusting go, etc., just to enjoy nature’s wonders for a few precious minutes. And then I’d see little faces peeking through the back door wondering where I was and it was the start of another day…could be great, could be not so great, but it was my life then, and I’d do it all again in a heartbeat.

    Enjoy all those wonderful, mundane things, for they will be over all too soon. I envy you. And I love you.

    I had my turn, now it’s yours.

  2. This was a lovely post : ). How did the chicken enchiladas go over? It always makes me laugh when something that was a hit turns out to be not well received the second time.

    Love your picture thought.

    Boy do I miss those baby ramblings at bed time. So sweet. Jellycat : ).

  3. Toni says:

    You have the greatest postings. Makes me miss being home the two days a week I used to be home with my babies. I treasured that special time with them and it went so fast. Now they are ten and five and in school all day and I miss them when I’m at work. I’d do anything to be off in the summer with them or just have one of us be able to get them from school rather than my dad and a sitter. I’m thankful for G-Pa and the precious time he has with his g-kids but it’s never easy to just have a few hours (sometimes none since I work a second job tonight and will be gone from home for over 15 hours-I know, bad but I need extra money for a new roof since loans are unheard of anymore) with them. Thank goodness tomorrow is Friday! Enjoy the quiet and the noise my friend!

  4. I love this! I am going to have to steal it…just not today. If I had to admit to everyone I was wearing a tank top when it’s -20 degree wind chill out, they’d put me in the looney bin.

Say it...

