Reminders

They are always there, and they creep up when you least expect it. 

Twelve years ago, we got a puppy.  A chocolate lab puppy.  A big, hairy, floppy eared, clumsy, slobbering fool of a puppy.  He was awesome.  We named him Coco.  I fell head over heels for that silly old dog. 

One day while I was at work, Coco took it upon himself to rearrange all of my cookbooks, and give them a fresh new look.  He tore most of the covers to shreds, and scattered them about the living room.  I came home to a carpet littered with quarter-sized shreds of cardboard.  And a dog that was mysteriously absent from the cookbook carnage. 

Mm-hmm.

Well, I LOVED my cookbooks and we couldn’t afford to replace them at the time, so I kept them.  The recipes weren’t damaged, just the covers.  There are recipes in the books that I go to every holiday, or special occasion, but other than that, I don’t open them much throughout the year anymore. 

It’s always kind of a surprise when I do pull them out, and they cause me to stop and remember that dog.  And that always makes me smile, but it also leaves me with a little bit of sadness.  He wasn’t here with us nearly long enough. 

Part of me really wants another dog.  And part of me is afraid that no dog is ever going to measure up to that Coco.        

 

Cookbooks, slobber, dog hair and all.

Reminders

5 thoughts on “Reminders

  1. We have books looking like that. I don’t know if I’d want another dog either. or another 2 dogs. My husand says yes, but I say I just don’t know.

  2. There are always little things that remind me of Ginger, my childhood best friend who died right before I graduated from high school. They’re part of the family and with us always in our hearts. Another dog might help you move past your grief.. not as a “replacement” for Coco, but because it’s falling in love with another adorable puppy who will give you new and different silly moments and challenges in dogrearing 🙂 Good luck, you’ll know if and when it’s time.

Say it...

