More of a Whole Lotta Nothin’

Let’s just get right into it…

1.  I cleaned behind my fridge.  Oh.  ‘Oh’ doesn’t really explain the gross-out factor.  I don’t really know how long it has been since I cleaned back there…  There was a LOT of dust.  Also found under/behind my fridge:

-a dog chew (okay, we haven’t had a dog for over a year now, so it’s been at least 15 months since I cleaned back there.  Did I just say that out loud?  How embarassing.)

-one rock hard fruit snack, in the shape of grapes.  How long does it take fruit snacks to get rock hard? 

-dust

-a pencil

-some broken glass.  

-a yogurt raisin.  Melted and ensconsed in dust. 

-DUST.

2.  The other day around bedtime, I was supervising Henry getting his jammies on.  He has become concerned, as of late, that someone may see him in all his naked cuteness.  The three older kids are constantly trying to peek at each other, and then they taunt each other with things like “I saw Henry’s buns!”  or “woohoo, William is naked.”  So I’m standing there, rubbing my eyes with fatigue, and Henry looks at me, dead serious, and says, “Hey Mom, wanna see my cute buns?”  He’s going to be a charmer, that one.  🙂

3.  Bulb count…I don’t even know.  What I do know is that the builder of this home, in an effort to really really hurt me, put so many rocks in our soil that I can’t even get the shovel down 3 inches without hitting one.  It seriously takes about 5-10 minutes just to dig one tiny little 6 inch bulb hole.  So I had 200 bulbs to plant.  That’s 1000-2000 minutes.  That’s 17-33 hours.  You can see I’m real good with the math.   Anyway, I was going to put the remainder of the bulbs around the last crepe myrtle, but I ran out of room, and somehow I have like 40 or 50 left.  So I guess I’ll put them around the patio in the back.  Part of me wants to scatter them in the woods, so that we’ll have them peeking out of the fallen leaves in the spring.  Wouldn’t that be lovely?  The other part of me wants to chuck ’em.

4.  Diaramas.  Oh diarama, how I’ve missed thee.  I got to enjoy you this time without the responsibility of actually having to make you.  Okay, so if that were true, why did I feel the pressure?  My second grader had to choose a habitat, and make a diarama to illustrate it.  Okay.  So she chose a desert.  I went to Michael’s, looking for a few little things that we could throw in there.  Did you know they have diarama kits there?  Like, kits that you can make a landscape out of, with water, and rocks and trees and shrubs, flowers, everything…they looked so professional.  I didn’t get a kit, I actually wanted her to work on this a bit.  What happened to glue and tape and paper, clay and stuff you have lying around…and using your imagination?  Sheesh. 

5.  Coasters.  I bought these cute coasters for Halloween.  The are round, black beaded coasters with white beaded crossbones (strictly for Halloween, of course).  Do you want me to tell you how many times per day I pick them up off the floor?  Saturday evening I picked them up three times between supper and bedtime.  That is between 5:30 and 7:00 people.  Ella likes them.  Well, she likes them on the floor apparently.  Because if she sees them on the table, you know, where they’re supposed to be, she comes over and with one swipe flings them on the floor.  I eventually get tired of picking them up and just leave them there.   

6.  Cabinet bumpers.  Do you have these?  You know those little pads that go on the inside of the cabinet to soften the sound the cabinet makes when it closes…so they don’t slam.  Well, it has become Ella’s main purpose in life to remove them.  Can I just tell you how much that slamming sound irritates me?  It’s like nails on a chalk board.  Anyway, she opens a cabinet, peels off the bumper, and brings it to me.  And she does it on purpose, too.  (Can you see a pattern here with her?  When I’m not paying attention to her, she either flings the coasters, or peels off the bumpers, or plays with the unbreakable glass bowls in the cabinet.  Isn’t it now crystal clear that there is a conspiracy among the four children to rob me of my sanity?  I hear them plotting at night…)  So anyway, I had a whole bunch of those bumpers on my counter, about 15 or 16 of them, and I finally decided to glue them all back on.  So I did.  Now we’ll see how long it takes her to realize they’re all back, and rip them all off again.  Today, she has already taken three off. 

7.  There are snowflakes in our forecast.  It is October.  In Virginia.  Virginia is in the south, people.  I have to admit, seeing snowflakes on the forecast actually made me smile. 

8.  Yesterday I bought Kate some new camisoles, since it’s getting so chilly, and you know, snowy and all around here.  I put them in her drawer and when she was getting her jammies on for bed last night, she spotted them and said “Oh, new camisoles, I’ve been longing for new camisoles!”  Really?  Longing?  She is such a sweet little drama queen! 

And there you have it.

More of a Whole Lotta Nothin’

7 thoughts on “More of a Whole Lotta Nothin’

  1. VICKI SLADE says:

    I have a whole drawer full of cabinet bumpers from when Jake enjoyed ripping them off. I never put them back up, although I’m thinking Madi will enjoy the same activity…soon! And I haven’t cleaned behind our frig since I painted the kitchen…and that was aWHILE ago. Great blog, Kristen, I’m enjoying keeping up with you and your family. vicki

  2. Definitely not a whole lot of nothing to me…you’re a busy bee.

    I see interior decorating in Ella’s future. Ugh to snow in October/November. It needs to save itself for our white Christmas. Hope the bumpers stay put for the rest of the day 🙂

  3. Haven’t cleaned BEHIND my fridge since we moved here almost two years ago. So you win! And Bridoodle is definitely in the same throw everything and pull everything apart stage. She has a lot of fun in the kitchen!

  4. I love your ‘daily day’ moments :0)

    The fridge is my nemesis. My husband, the architect, wanted it recessed into the wall. It took three grown men to get it there, and it wasn’t balanced properly (the door wouldn’t swing shut automatically). Two more grown men managed to get little wedges under the front of it.

    We installed the new appliances when we remodeled… back in 2003.

    I have five years of dust waiting for me. If dust can even fit back there. I’m afraid!

    Julie

  5. Hi,

    This is my first time here. Cleaning out behind your refrigerator reminds me of the time I had to pull the washing machine out. Legos, old socks, dust galore. How, by the way, does your daugther know about camisoles?

  6. I agree with another commenter. We’ve lived here two years and I’m pretty sure I’ve never cleaned behind the fridge. These type of posts are my favorite! It’s reassuring that others can be incredibly random as well when they sit down to blog. 🙂 Some days, it’s all I got.

  7. 1) I hate wasting yogurt raisins 🙂

    and 2) my builder did the same thing with the rocks in the beds. I got thru 4 dozen bulbs. There are 2 more dozen in my garage waiting to be planted. Humph!

Say it...

