Tell Me Again Why I Didn’t Want Summer to End?

 

Not sure what I was thinking.  After a little teensy bit of nervousness and a lot of excitement, the first couple days of school have come and gone, and they were good.  The mornings have gone smoothly, really smoothly, and I don’t think I could have asked for a better start to the school year.  Ella and I have kept busy with errands and playing and taking walks until the kids come home.  (She’s a different baby girl when there aren’t little people poking and prodding and impeding her every move helping her, all day long.)  And let’s just say the three hour naps are NICE. 

Henry and I have had some time to play together, to build tracks for the cars, and play cars (I don’t think I’m very good at the playing part–still learning how  to play cars, but at the building part I’m a master).  Then he and I walk outside to the bus stop to greet the kids when they step off the bus.  And when they do, they are all smiles! 

Except for the grumps that always accompany Kate home from school.  I wish those grumps would get off at another bus stop, let me tell you.  But, the grumps do tend to disappear after a few oatmeal raisin cookies.  Yes, the cookies do seem to cheer Kate up quite a bit (she is SO much like her Mama).  She just gets so worn out from school…

William, on the other hand, comes off the bus bouncing.  He has boundless energy, that one.  And he misses his Mom–on the first day he ran to me at the bus stop and threw his arms around me in a big hug.  I am going to shrivel into a little dead chunk of a woman the day that he stops wanting to hug his mom.  

I have said before that William is the lion and the lamb, all rolled up into one person.  (I think he gets that from me…)  When we arrived home after the first day of school, William pulled me into a quiet spot in the kitchen and told me to hold out my hand, so I did.  He put a kiss into my palm, and then pressed my hand onto my cheek and said, “Now whenever you touch your cheek, you will feel warm.  Mrs. Foster told us that.”  And he looked up at me and smiled and I just couldn’t believe how sweet this 6 year old little boy was.  And Mrs. Foster, you’ve earned yourself some serious points with this mother here.  I’ve never read “The Kissing Hand” book, but I’m quite sure that’s where it came from.  I don’t care.  It made my day, and is just exactly how I want my son’s first grade experience to start.

It’s going to be a good year, I can tell.

Tell Me Again Why I Didn’t Want Summer to End?

7 thoughts on “Tell Me Again Why I Didn’t Want Summer to End?

  1. Toni says:

    Awwww…too cute! The Kissing Hand is my favorite book next to Guess How Much I Love You. You are obviously doing a wonderful job raising your children as they seem as sweet as mine. Pat yourself on the back for doing an amazing job which is THE hardest job in the world!

  2. Who knew that all that sweetness was in him? I bet that just melted your heart. I had never heard of the Kissing Hand either until this morning. Miss Jamie read it to Jack’s class…I love it and will have to remember that whenever the kids get separation anxiety.

  3. Awwww. With that first picture tears sprung to my eyes. What sweetness you have all wrapped up in your small things. They truly are “no small thing”. Happy Saturday!

  4. The Kissing Hand was given to us by our preschool and, yes, this comes straight from it… word for word. William has a great attention span! Caden and I have been giving kissing hands at night to each other. You can give one to William, too, in the same way that he did, so he can feel warmth in his heart while he’s at school. I strongly suggest finding the book at the library and reading it. It is truly truly wonderful (as you now know!).

  5. I LOVE SCHOOL! Great week for us too, glad yours was great! And that William. OMG. What a sweetheart. That is from the Kissing Hand. A book that Marcy gave me when Danny went to school so it always makes me think of her. So happy school was a success!

Say it...

