100 Tidbits-O-Me

Ahhh, at last I reach my 100th post.  Now, I don’t know why on earth you would want to sit here and read 100 things about me, but in the interest of conformity, I have written up 100 very interesting facts about moi.  And yes, I stole some of it from About Me.  Because people, I’m just not that deep.  Okay, so I know you have all bitten your nails down to the quick in anticipation, so without further delay, here it is…

1.  I iron sheets.  Not the entire sheet, just the top part that gets all crushed up in the wash.

2.  I feel that towels must be folded in a very specific manner:  fold in 1/2 the short way, then in 1/2 again, then in thirds.  Make sure to tuck in the tag. 

3.  I must tuck in all tags when folding a garment/towel/sheet/shirt.

4.  I have lived my entire life in Virginia.

5.  I graduated from Virginia Tech.  GO HOKIES!!!

6.  With a bachelor’s degree in Psychology.

7.  I work in accounting.  Part time.  From home.

8.  Well, accounting and child development.

9.  I love the color orange.  If I were a crayon, I would be Tangerine.

10.  If I could do it over again, I would have studied botany.

11.  I have an addiction to buying crafty things that I’ll probably never use, like brads.

12.  Same thing for soap.  Cannot resist buying handmade soaps even though I have a cabinet full of them at home.

13.  I love dogs.  Especially big dogs.  Especially Labs.

14.  I love to watch college football.

15.  I married my high school sweetheart.  We have been together since 8 days before my 17th birthday.

16.  On any given Saturday in the fall, the six of us all wear our Hokie gear around town.  I’m sure the Wahoos out there think we’re ridiculous, but I don’t care. 

17.  I love to garden.  I could be weeding, trimming, planting, deadheading, watering; as long as I’m out there, I’m happy!

18.  I also love to cook.  Although now it has become somewhat of a chore, I still love the thrill of finding a new recipe, and putting together menu plans. 

19.  I like to make things from scratch.  I like homemade…it just seems better.

20.  My husband says-and I quote-“It’s really hard to be you, isn’t it?”  I tend to do things the hard way.  And I like to do everything myself.  I should really ease up.

21.  I did not inherit my mother’s sense of style.  I don’t get it.  I got all the other stuff.

22.  Including her way of mumbling to herself when she is unhappy with something.  Just loud enough so that everyone can hear.  

23.  I also inherited my dad’s tendency to speak angrily to the tv.

24.  God blessed me with a high metabolism.   I abuse it regularly.  Especially where chocolate items are concerned. 

25.  I am a wine lover.  Especially Cabernet Sauvignon.  I dig tannins.

26.  I have four children… two boys, two girls; two blondes, two redheads.

27.  I love the smell of crayons.  Now that is a smell that evokes memories of childhood.  Ditto for pencils.

28.  Lavender is one of my all-time favorite smells (that and the smell of my children!)

29.  Man, this is tough.  I’m running out of stuff.  Twenty-nine???  I’m only on twenty-nine???

30.  I used to keep a stash of hershey bars in the laundry room.  When the kids were driving me nuts, I would go in there and eat them.  I figured it was better than drinking vodka.

31.  I need my coffee.

32.  I get up at 5:00am every day to work on my computer.

33.  I’m Catholic.

34.  I have a mild case of scoliosis…16 degree curvature of the spine.  You’d never know unless I pointed it out.

35.  I think I am a pretty creative person. 

36.  Christmas is my favorite holiday.  I just love it.  I always picture it candlelit through that soft fuzzy lens with those big 1970’s colored lights.

37.  Every year, I make toffee and chocolate covered pretzels for friends.  Except last year when we were all deathly ill from about November through April.

38.  I love McDonald’s french fries.

39.  I will not eat inside a fast food restaurant.  I don’t like the smell.

40.  My first job was at a Kentucky Fried Chicken.  Oh. my. God.

41.  I will never eat at a KFC again.

42.  I was a cheerleader in high school.

43.  I also swam a bit.

44.  And played soccer for a year.

45.  My dreams tend to center around my husband leaving me.  Not for another woman, but just because he doesn’t love me anymore. 

46.  When I eat, I tend to think of really awful things, which often makes me sick to my stomach.  It is a form of self torture.  I don’t know why I do it, but it is getting worse. 

47.  I get a great deal of pleasure at trimming my children’s finger and toe-nails.  I like them to be nice and neat.

48.  I’m a type A, all they way.

49.  Hey, I’m a poet, and I didn’t know it.

50.  I do not like board games.  I don’t know why. 

51.  ditto that for card games.

52.  Back to Christmas…every year, we cut down our own Christmas tree.  As long as I can walk, we will cut down our own Christmas tree.  They aren’t necessarily the most beautiful trees, but they are the most beautiful memories.

53.  I don’t know why you’re still reading.

54.  I have recently come to understand just how much my mood is affected by certain smells.  Lavender, for example, or apples & cinnamon, will put a smile on my face every time.

55.  I hate to dust, but I love a freshly dusted house.  

56.  I like to do laundry…the sorting and the stain treating and the washing.  I hate the folding part.  Maybe that has something to do with my strict folding tendencies. 

57.  My hair looks best in a bob.  Always has, always will.  After 37 years, I finally realize that, and accept it.

58.  I am afraid of camel crickets.  Seriously afraid.  Have you ever seen one of these beasts??!!

59.  My biggest fear is losing — in any way, shape or form — one of my children.  I torture myself with thoughts of it happening, usually when I’m supposed to be enjoying time by myself.  That is my way of torturing myself with guilt about having a little time by myself.  Like “if I wasn’t so selfish and needing to be alone this never would have happened.”

60.  I don’t talk politics anymore.  In fact, I hate to talk politics. 

61.  I am, however, an educated voter. 

62.  I’m a sniffer.  I routinely sniff my children.  It’s only because they smell so good.

63.  Every year, around tax time, I have nightmares about trying to find a discrepancy buried within thousands of pages of journal entries.  It’s a welcome change from the husband-leaving-me dreams I have in the auditing off-season. 

64.  When I was a child, I spent my summer vacations in Maine.  I miss it dearly. 

65.  My husband bought me a bluebird house that hangs on a tree outside our family room.  It is home to a pair of bluebirds that return every year.  I love them. 

66.  The female bluebird pecks constantly at our windows.  All.day.long.

67.  I come from a large-ish family.

68.  I don’t really like soda.  Unless I’m pregnant.  And then I shouldn’t be drinking it.

69.  I eat all of my meat fully-FULLY-cooked. 

70.  I do not eat egg yolks.  I can’t stand that little stringy white thing that is stuck on there.  I have to yank it out before I cook an egg.

71.  I’m a list maker.  Sometimes, I’ll even write things on a list that I’ve already done, just so I can cross them off my list for motivation.  It appears that I’ve done more with my day.  Which of course, I have.

72.  I love candles.  Especially scented ones.  But I usually can’t bear to burn them.  Stupid, I know.

73.  Why are you still here?

74.  I am usually cold.  My husband is usually hot.  Not a good combo. 

75.  The first car I ever bought was a Jeep Wrangler.  I didn’t know how to drive a stick. 

76.  My dad had to drive my new car home for me.  Thanks Dad!

77.  I have a terrible terrible terrible habit of singing things that should just be spoken.  Like if someone asked me what’s for supper, I’ll sing it to them to the tune of the William Tell Overture.

We’re Having Fish…..Ta a a cos.  We’re having fish. ta. cos.  Fi-ish Tacos.  (Terrible.  See what I mean?)

78.  I am secretly jealous every time someone tells me they are expecting.  Seriously.  Like I don’t have enough children of my own. 

79.  No, I’m not planning anymore children.  I have enough children of my own.

80.  Cannot drink fruit punch anymore.  Something about drinking some drink called a “Hillybilly butt-kicker” in college.  Can’t remember the details. 

81.  I am a member of Delta Gamma Fraternity.  This year, I paid my dues for the first time in 15 years.  I promised upon joining that I would pay for 50 years I think.  I feel seriously guilty that I have not honored my promise, and intend to do so from now on. 

82.  I had laser vision correction.  I highly recommend it.  It is fascinating, but extremely creepy to go through.  I don’t think the valium they gave me worked.  

83.  When I had the surgery, they gave me these big huge goggles I had to wear for a week or so.  We called me “Goggles Pisano.”  It’s from the Flintstones, people.  Look it up.

84.  My husband and I have a terribly funny habit of quoting miscellaneous movies.  Especially movies like Christmas Vacation, and Meet the Parents.  We are terribly funny people, you know.

85.  As we speak, my sister is at the hospital having her second baby.  I know that has nothing to do with me, but I’m giddy over it. 

86.  I have white spots in my fingernails.  Not toe nails, just finger nails.  They go away when I’m pregnant.  They come back about 6 months after I deliver.  If it weren’t for the end result of pregnancy, I’d consider being perpetually pregnant, just to get rid of these flippin’ white spots.

87.  I once read somewhere that FDA safety regulations allow for a certain number of rat/mouse pellets (or maybe it was rat hairs?) per measure of peanuts/grain.  I have no idea if this is true or not, but due to this possible truth, I have a hard time eating sandwich bread.  It’s one of those disgusting things I think about when I’m eating…rats crawling around all over the grains of wheat.  Ew. 

88.  I am nearly always correct.  Right honey?

89.  I thought I was wrong once, but I was mistaken.

90.  I eat a huge portion of my children’s Halloween candy.  Sorry.  I can’t help myself.

91.  I do not like hard candy.  Except candy canes. 

92.  Autumn is my favorite season.  Sweaters, jeans, turning leaves, fires burning, hot cocoa, football games, rosey cheeks, a nip in the air… 

93.  Some of my favorite things in the garden are herbs…lavender, rosemary, basil, thyme, chives, and mint.  Someday I’ll have a HUGE herb garden.

94.  I have started a butterfly garden…it is going to be a lot of work, but it is going to be delightful.

95.   When I was born, only the whites of my eyes were showing.  Yep, it IS creepy.

96.  When I was about 12 years old, I took my shirt off at the pool, thinking I had my bathing suit on underneath.  I was mortified.  I spent the next several hours hiding in our big blue van, too embarassed to come out.  To this very day, I check to make sure I actually have my bathing suit on under my clothes 3 or 4 times before I’ll remove my shirt.

97.  Boy, I’m really digging here…Um…Okay, I’m a Pisces. 

98.  I still get up at least once every single night to check on the kids. 

99.  My earlobes are attached.  See, I told you, I’m really digging.   

100.  I am living my dream life.  This is what I wanted.  I just didn’t know it would be so challenging, and so profoundly beautiful.

 

Now if you read that entire thing, I’d have to say that I’m either extremely entertaining to read about, or you have very little to do.  And if it’s the latter, come on over here, ’cause I can put you to work.  In the words of my mother, “If you’ve got nothing to do, I’ll give you something to do.”  🙂  Over and out.

100 Tidbits-O-Me

13 thoughts on “100 Tidbits-O-Me

  1. Marcy says:

    wow that is impressive. I think I will never get to 100 posts, cause i’m not so sure I compile such a list.

    Thanks for making me smile…I could totally “hear” you writing.

  2. I made it through the list! Although, when I found out you were a Hokie, I almost (almost!) stopped reading. 🙂 My hubby and I met at JMU, so we’re Dukes, and even though we’re not even in the same Division as Tech (and would get crushed in any sport we played them if we were), there is some weird “hate Tech and UVA” rivalry we’re supposed to pride ourselves on. Such a fun post, and I’m glad I’m able to “get to know you better”. We have a lot in common.

  3. woo-hoo — 100th post!!! I enjoyed reading through the entire list and learned some some new things about you. #46 explains the man vs wild lunch discussion and #87? I’ll pretend I didn’t read that. ewwww….

  4. You are a terribly funny person indeed. When my mother-in-law first saw her granddaughter, she said something to the effect of “Oh! She’s beautiful! She looks just like Ryan when he was a baby. Thank goodness her earlobes aren’t attached like yours!” I had never given a second thought to anyone’s earlobes before, but now I am self-conscious about them.

  5. No freakin way. #96 totally happened to me too and it was such. a. nightmare. But even freakier, it happened to my oldest daughter too, when she was 7 at Girl Scout Camp and she wouldn’t go back after because she had actually gone out to the pool completely naked. Don’t ask me how it happened but she was mortified.

    I love your list. Read every single one. We have a lot of stuff in common, but I already knew that. 🙂

    Congrats on your 100th!

  6. Erika says:

    Good stuff Kristen! I’m so glad to know I am not alone in exposing myself. I pulled my pants off in front of the entire sixth grade during an old clothes race…I spent the remainder of the festivities in the bathroom with Sharma McDaniel, who had accidentally taken off her shirt and exposed her unusually large breasts. Tragic.

    Oh, and I totally get not being able to leave the house for fear that something will happen to your children and you will have no one to blame but yourself. That is how I feel about Connor’s tooth…if only I hadn’t gone car shopping…he wouldn’t look like a hill-billy. Why do we do that to ourselves?

    Thanks for the laugh!

Say it...

