Watch Out Hemingway, Here I Come!

Hemingway once said he could sum up his life in six words:  “For Sale, Baby Shoes, Never Worn.”  Authors Larry Smith and Rachel Fershleiser took that idea and compiled the book Not Quite What I Was Planning:  Six Word Memoirs by Writers Famous & Obscure.  So there is this meme going around to write your own 6 word memoir, and Lisa at Take 90 West has tagged me for it.  I’d seen this one before, and wondered how on earth you can take your entire life and describe it in 6 words?  Do I start from birth?  Do I include where I’ve been and where I’m headed?  Shall I act as though my life has come to an end?  I am way too analytical for all this “six word” business.  I can over-analyze a sock if I’m in the mood to.   Well, to narrow it down a bit for myself, I’m going to go with my current life, as it is today.  Here goes: 

Boogers — I See Them Every Day.  (Yep)

My Next Meal?  Kids’ Leftover Food. (Sad, but sometimes true)

Crumbs Are Always Under My Feet. 

Dry Clean Only?  No Thank You.

Someday I Will Go Pee Alone.  (I can dream can I not?)

Sticky Fingerprints Cover My French Doors. (Yes they do, and I like it that way thankyouverymuch).

Soccer, Baseball And Ballet, Oh My.

Supper–Like It Or Lump It.  (Still don’t know what “lump it” means)

My Husband Puts Up With Me.  (Poor Man…) 

Those Are All Humorous, But True.  And I Can Think Of More… 

Four Kids Ago, I Was Pretty.

Now I’m Tired All The Time.   Dark Circles Appear Under My Eyes.  Maybe If I Slept Past 5:00am…  Coffee Doesn’t Help Much At All.

And finally,

Trying To Be A Good Mommy.

Waiting For The Next Oatmeal Kiss.

Holding Hands, Long As I Can. 

All My Dreams Have Come True.  (except for the one where I have my own beach house.  Still waiting on that one…)

The kids and I all sat around at lunchtime speaking in six word sentences.  That is frustrating.  So…

Before I Lose My Mind…  I Need To Pass This Along.  

The rules are simple:

1. Write your own six word memoir.

2. Post it to your blog including a visual illustration if you would like.

3. Link to the person who tagged you in your post and to this original post http://bookbabie.wordpress.com/2008/02/18/6-word-memior-meme if possible so we can track it as it travels across the blogsphere.

4. Tag 5 more blogs with links.

So I tag:

Citystreams

Suzanne

Marcy

Kelly

Katie

Enjoy Counting Your Fingers All Day.  Have I Nothing Better To Do?  I Am Tired; Must Get Sleep.  Have Fun Girls, I Sure Did!

Okay, I’m Going For Real Now.

Man, This Could Go On Forever.

I Don’t Know How To Stop….

Watch Out Hemingway, Here I Come!

9 thoughts on “Watch Out Hemingway, Here I Come!

  1. Marcy says:

    Kristen, you are still very pretty.

    Will stress over tagging all day.

    Love the picture of holding hands.

    I’m with you on the boggers.

  2. Ugh, you made that look really easy. I can’t even edit my comment for six words. My meme will be really interesting… but I’m looking forward to the challenge!

  3. I did it!! But I am link-challenged so I will link some poop unsuspecting saps later.
    This was fun. Meme me anytime! I got nothin’ but time! (and laundry)

Say it...

