I Guess He Really Wasn’t Hungry

So tonight supper began with the usual comments… (When you’re reading through these, make sure to do the whiney voice in your head)

“How many bites do I have to eat?”

“You just need to try a bite.”

“I don’t really care for this.”

“You haven’t even tried it yet.”

“The tomato has something on it.”

“It’s pepper. It’s fine.”

“I don’t like pepper.  I’m full.”

“Did you eat anything yet?”

“I’m not hungry.”

“Well then you’re not getting any ice cream after supper.”

“How many bites do I have to eat?”

etc.  I could go on ad nauseum.  It is literally the SAME conversation every night, perhaps with a different child.  Tonight it was Henry.  Well, after whining and complaining and asking encore une fois how many bites, he was on his way to finishing.  He put that last piece of chicken in his mouth, and I headed upstairs to get the kids in the bath while husband fixed up the ice cream for Henry.  Then I heard it.  The sound that will send a parent into a flurry of action in a split second. 

The gag, then the splatter. 

Yep, he did it.  He threw up his entire supper.  He had that panicky sound in his little four year old voice–worried that he just threw up, or that he wasn’t going to get ice cream, or more likely that he was going to have to start all over at square one, and eat another whole plate of those peppered tomatoes.  I guess he wasn’t that hungry after all.  But he sure did find room for that ice cream cone.  
 

 

How could we not give it to him after all that?!

I Guess He Really Wasn’t Hungry

2 thoughts on “I Guess He Really Wasn’t Hungry

  1. Awww, he tried really hard! Poor Henry. (laughing, sorry) So the real question is what do you do at the next meal if he gives you that “line” again about not being hungry!

  2. Marcy says:

    Ughh….that has to be thw worst. And only a child could eat an ice cream cone after throwing up all his dinner. Hope that was just a fluke and not the start of a bug.

    Tim did something similiar after dinner one night…right after we made him eat one last bite of broccoli. He is now convinced broccoli makes you throw up. Nice try!

Say it...

