WFMW

Updated:  I thought soon after I posted this that I should have included a recipe, and then one of y’all even asked for it (great minds…) so here it is:

-one cup firmly packed fresh basil leaves

-1/2 cup firmly packed parsley sprigs

-1/2 cup fresh grated Parmesan

-1/4 cup pine nuts

-1 large clove garlic, smashed

-1/4 cup olive oil

In food processor combine basil leaves, parsley, parmesan, pine nuts, garlic and 1/4 tsp salt.  Pulse in food processor until paste forms.  Stream in olive oil until you reach desired consistency.  One little note here…I generally leave out the pine nuts, and have often used only basil, no parsley.  It is lovely just the same.  You may need to adjust the amount of olive oil you add if you do this.  Play around with it and make it how you like–you won’t be sorry! 

 

Summer is wonderful with all its tastes and smells, and then cometh Autumn.  Now, I LOVE Autumn–it’s my fave.  however, the fresh herbs tend to whither away pretty quickly once the weather turns.  And there is nothing like fresh basil to transport you back into summer, even on the coldest of wintry days.  I generally have so much basil I don’t know what to do with it all.  So what I do periodically throughout the summer is make pesto.  Pesto freezes very well–Just put it in ice cube trays for the perfect sized serving, freeze it, and then you have “summer” all year round!  And folks, it’s not just for pasta…you can use it as a dipper for grilled chicken, a marinade or rub, you can flavor soups with it.  I even plop a dollop of it in the middle of the kids’ spaghetti plates.  They LOVE it!  Give it a try!

Go to Rocks In My Dryer for more things that work!

WFMW

6 thoughts on “WFMW

  1. RAN says:

    Thanks for that info. I too grow lots of basil and LOVE putting it in everything. Never once thought about freezing pesto. Great idea! My freezer will be full of little green ice cubes come August.

  2. This is a great tip. I love pesto and plan on planting lots of basil this year in my garden for frozen pesto all year long. Do you have a great recipe to share too?

Say it...

