Remembering

April 16th, 2007 is a day that those of us lucky enough to call ourselves Hokies will never forget. 

In the wake of the tragedy, I felt angry.  Angry that people who have never before really contemplated Virginia Tech will forever have this incident as the prominent reference embedded in their minds.  I worried that this is what they will think of when they hear the words “Virginia Tech.”  But while I felt so angry that one twisted individual could inflict such pain, I was blown away by the kindness of a community, a state, a conference, a nation, a world.  And through reading hundreds and hundreds of comments from people around the globe, I realized that what will be remembered is the strength of our family. 

And I have never felt more proud to be a Hokie. 

In the words of poet Nikki Giovanni

“We are the Hokies.  We will prevail, we will prevail, we will prevail.  We are Virginia Tech.”

Remembering the 32 who went before us one year ago this day. 

Remembering

3 thoughts on “Remembering

  1. EG says:

    Oh, I’m surfing through the bloggy giveaway comments and found this. I, too, am a Hokie. I think that the university and students did an excellent job with the remembrance activities this year.

  2. kristenkj says:

    Thank you Kelsey! EG–Hello fellow Hokie! I read your blog post regarding the ceremony (I wasn’t able to post a comment on your blog for some reason), and it sounded like a beautiful ceremony. I watched the video clip with the song sung by the choir, and I couldn’t get through that without tears. I can’t imagine how moving the ceremony must have been. You must still live near by there…we love it there, and are going to head down there for a game with all four of our little ones…should be an adventure!

Say it...

