Happy Little Stars

August 25, 2007

Henry has recently become quite the little singer; he seems completely entranced when I sing to him at night, absorbing the words and watching my mouth move intently.  He watches musicals-everything from Annie (a phase in which he insisted on being called Annie, while I was to be called Miss Hannigan-not sure how exactly to take that) to High School Musical (he is now to be called ‘head in the game’ even though I have told him countless times that his favorite character’s name is Troy).  One of his favorite songs to sing is Twinkle Twinkle Little Star.  Somehow, he learned the lyrics “twinkle, twinkle, happy little star.”  No matter how many times I have sung it to him, he always puts that extra little “happy” in there.  I usually try so hard to get him to say things ‘the right way’ because I know that allowing him to mispronounce things and leave out words, etc., will be a hard habit for him to break as he learns the complexities of the English language.  But this is one of those times I’m going to leave it alone.  I smile when I think of it, knowing the stars in his world are happy little stars.   

Happy Little Stars

2 thoughts on “Happy Little Stars

  1. Somehow I missed this post until today – it put a smile on my face this morning. I will never think of Twinkle Twinkle Little Star the same again – thanks Henry :)!

  2. Rida says:

    I know nothing about raising children (being 22 and unmarried myself) but I still had so much fun wandering around your blog! Discovered it when I googled “tell me a pretty story” coz I was feeling so very low. Your words and your stories have not only helped eased my mind but left me with a soft, sweet lingering happiness and a smile on my face.

    Your children are beautiful!God bless them! I love how enthusiastic you are about them and how you celebrate the time you have with them 🙂 Your love will do wonders for them. Every child deserves to be loved and appreciated this way. I hope someday I am blessed with children too and that I have the clarity to truly understand that it no small thing to share my life with these little creatures, the challenges and barf notwithstanding.

Say it...

