Resolutions

I have never been one to make resolutions.  I can’t keep them.  It seems silly to go through the motions, every year, knowing full well that they mean nothing to me, and so I don’t.

I did, however, make some resolutions for Poppy, because she is in serious need of reform.

1.  Resist the temptation to bark at every last squirrel in the forest.

2.  Stop eating legos.

3.  Refrain from licking nether regions in public.

4.  Stop tinkling on blankie.

5.  Fix breath problem.

Numbers 1, 3 and 5 present a serious challenge, and it is clear from days 1, 2 and 3 of this new year that she is going to struggle.  But, once she masters these resolutions, she will absolutely, totally be the perfect dog.

Puppy dog eyes NST

One thing is certain…she has totally mastered the art of puppy dog eyes.

Happy new year!

8 thoughts on “Resolutions

  1. 1. I got nothin’. We have one barker and one who never barks, and there is no rational as to why they do or do not bark. Maybe ask the squirrels to stay out of sight?

    2. Hmm, we have no legos in our house so I didn’t even consider how big of a problem this could be until reading this. Once again, I got nothin’.

    3. Kali and Mei Mei know exactly what the phrase: “Just because you can, doesn’t mean you should.” means, and will straighten up immediately upon hearing it.

    4. Surely she will outgrow this?

    5. Antlers! (Target around here sells them in the dog chew aisle – best chew toy/breath freshener that we’ve found!)

    • Unfortunately for us, we have lot of oaks and walnut trees in our backyard. Hence, the squirrels. They will never leave, I’m sure of it. So, we will forever deal with the squirrels. And they sit right on our deck taunting Poppy. They are sneaky little devils.

      Antlers…never seen them in any of the stores around here…will look harder…

      peeing…I read once that it was a sign of a submissive dog that was marking her territory in an attempt to scare away any strangers so that she wouldn’t have to defend that territory. Don’t know if that’s true or not…but it was interesting.

      And as for the embarrassing licking issue…well, you have to practically knock her off balance to get her to stop. Or take her little head in your hands and physically remove it from the area. She has no modesty. :(

      These are the joys for sure…

      ________________________________

  2. Hey girl!!! So funny!!! I agree, antlers are great and do help! Petsmart sells them too! I also recommend a dental cleaning by your vet, it ran us about $300 but our Mini Schnauzer really needed it badly and so far it’s been worth it. We also try (not always, but we really try) to brush Jewel’s teeth three times a week. Also, Poppy and those puppy dog eyes, so precious! Sorry about the other stuff, beauty of owning a doggie I guess! Nice to see you back and Happy New Year gal to you and the sweet family of yours!

    • I have never seen antlers anywhere…I will have to look a little harder. Even then, it seems kind of creepy…we’ve tried the other breath stuff, except for the brushing…she just might be a breathy dog. I don’t know.

      Happy new year to you, too! It’s been a while. Just so busy, and not much time for writing and all of that.

      ________________________________

      • I never heard of them before asking a Certified Pet Instructor at Petsmart about them and she recommended them to us for our doggie that was mowing through the nylabones. You can always check online, like Ama*zon.com as they carry them. I bought about a $9.00 one for my 18.5 pound doggie. I highly recommend. I know your feelings about the cleaning but it really is worth the expense and they just need extra cuddles afterwards since they have to be put out for it. I also recommend Tropiclean Fresh Breath Pet Mint Foam for the in-between brushings, you just open her mouth and spray it in (it’s also online at Ama*zon.com).

        I hear ya, it’s been crazy busy around here as well…ugh…countdown to spring break in Florida is on…78 more days…can’t wait, I really dislike winter and it’s blahs….especially bundling me AND the dog up for our walks, such a drag….

        Stay warm gal! :O)

Say it...

