Life Lessons.

While I think I bore the most pain from this little story, I think I also learned the most.

Sometimes, when you get some distance between you and your troubles, you can see things with a little more clarity.  The guilt and sorrow of letting go of Charlie stays with me still.  Maybe it always will.  I still miss him.  Maybe I always will.  I think I see, though, that he was never meant for us.  We had a role to play in his life, and though I wanted this to be his home, forever, it simply wasn’t possible.  Just the same, I loved him. 

We all needed Charlie.  Charlie taught us to be compassionate.  He taught us that patience and love can make a difference.  And that trust doesn’t always come easy.  He taught us that sometimes loving something means doing something that hurts.  And that sometimes loving something, and having your heart broken, means that someone else’s dreams will come true.  And that when one door in life closes, another one always opens…you just have to look for it.

Amazing how much a crazy, scared, little, lost dog can teach you such profound life lessons.

5 thoughts on “Life Lessons.

  1. There needs to be a “like” button so I can like Rebecca’s comment. :) This really is beautiful. I’m so glad Charlie had you to love him even if was just for a little while. He’s the better for it… so are you.

  2. I’m so sorry for your sadness. I can seriously feel your pain in this (and prior) posts. I have been there before. We had 2 little dogs. Chile and Chloe. Chile was our first. We got him before we got married. We loved him. Had him for 8 yrs. He bit Jack then Luke. So we gave him up. He now lives with a woman who is elderly and loves him. She sends an email every 3 months and I cry each time I read them. I love him still, miss him still. It will get better, but it will hurt. Thinking of you. *hugs*

  3. Yes, they certainly do teach us…every day we are taught…so much that it amazes me! Been thinking about you…actually every time I hug my Jewel a bit tighter, it’s like I’m giving her an extra hug for you for Charlie. Continuing to pray for you and your sweet family.

  4. Pingback: The door that opened. «

Say it...

