On Cupcakes

Cupcakes, you are but bundles of happiness in a cup.  I love thee, cupcakes.

So today I am baking cupcakes for the boy to bring to school tomorrow, on his eight birthday.  I decided to make them from scratch.

This has nothing to do with the fact that I am a wonderful super duper mommy, and everything to do with the fact that I kept putting off getting a cake mix and now I don’t feel like going to the store.  Except I have to go anyway, because I don’t have any icing.  But I know that if I wait until this afternoon to do the baking, well, little Bill might be taking in a batch of the Giant bakery cupcakes to school.  (Which, there is nothing wrong with.  Don’t email me.)

So anyway, I’m separating my eggs, and I’m mixing my ingredients, and I’m dancing around the kitchen.  And I’m just thinking how wonderful these cupcakes are going to be.  You know, because they’re from scratch. 

I put the first batch in. 

I took the first batch out.

You know how the cupcakes-from-a-box just pop right out of the tins?

Yes.  That’s why people buy them. 

Because the scratch cupcakes?  They do not seem to be popping right out of the tins too much. 

They are coming out all misshapen, and are not fit to send to school.

So I have to eat them. 

Do you know what the worst part about it is?  They don’t even taste that good.  How can they not taste good?  They are from scratch.  They have to taste good.  Don’t they?

This is what I get for feeling lazy.  And then trying to be all supermom about it.

On Cupcakes

9 thoughts on “On Cupcakes

    1. Well, see, the boy asked for chocolate and vanilla swirl cupcakes…so I made two batches of cake batter–one chocolate, one vanilla. So I have like 60 cupcakes over here. So the kids in his class are going to eat them, and that’s that. I’ll make them look real purty…pipe on some frosting and scatter colorful sprinkles all over them, and they will be so spell-bound with my artistry they won’t notice the taste. 🙂

  1. I love cake mixes…My two favorites are Duncan Hines Moist Deluxe Butter Recipe Golden and Butter Recipe Chocolate. You use a stick of butter instead of oil and I ALWAYS get compliments on them and how moist they are. When people love it, they love it. No guilt!

  2. Nothing I make from scratch every looks that pretty. But honestly, the batter and the gooey goodness of homemade cupcakes had to be way better than the store bought ones. I give you an A for effort 🙂

  3. Oh, how funny you are! Did you at least get to lick the yummy goodness of the beaters? 🙂 Good luck on your quest for the perfect b’day cupcakes for your 8-year-old… don’t you wish time would slow down a bit?

Say it...